View Full Version : Do shields not give additional bonuses in MKII?
12-16-2009, 05:13 PM
I was looking at the MKII rules for the Spriggan and I noticed that it's armor was a flat 19.
I cross-referenced this with some other 'jacks that sported a shield-arm and found the same thing.
Does MKII remove the armor bonuses for wielding a shield? Or am I missing something?
12-16-2009, 05:20 PM
Now I don't know for sure but I"m willing to bet having a shield arm for a warjack is now a common rule in the core rules rather than something they post on the card.
12-16-2009, 05:22 PM
Right, the stats has an ability under the Shield called 'shield' which means that he has a +2 armor against attacks coming from his front arc, if I recall the rules correctly.
12-16-2009, 05:31 PM
12-16-2009, 05:55 PM
Oh, cool. Thank you kindly gentlemen.
12-16-2009, 06:54 PM
Also, if the arm with the shield on it becomes crippled then you lose the armor bonus. You can still attack with that arm but with one less attack and damage dice.
12-16-2009, 11:22 PM
12-16-2009, 11:24 PM
Also, it makes Chain Weapon users a bit easier to use. You don't have to do math of whether its a Buckler or a Shield. The ARM value is on the card, so nothing to figure out.
Which is nice for the Devastator. :)
12-17-2009, 07:11 AM
Take a look in the latest rule updates here: http://files.privateerpress.com/warmachine/Mk2_Rule_Prerelease_20091124.pdf
There's a section that explains the bonuses for Bucklers and Shields. The bonuses are no longer printed on the cards.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.