View Full Version : weird noob question
02-01-2010, 02:04 AM
Since i have the Khador and my friend also plays Khador we made this table with a lake kinda middle too it, now he is saying that one of his units ( i don't remember what) freezes everything withing a 8" radius so he walks that unit to the lake and uses it saying he freezes the water to let his jacks walk over that, is it ever freaking possible cause it's bugging me now.
02-01-2010, 05:51 AM
Wow, I haven't heard that one before...
No, there are no rules for freezing water and walking on it. Sorcha (the starter box warcaster) can freeze every enemy model in her Line of Sight within 12", but the rules for that are in the rulebook (see "Stationary Models").
Most water is either Deep Water (impassible), or Shallow Water, which counts as rough terrain and any warjacks knocked down in it are disabled.
02-01-2010, 06:14 AM
There is no spell, feat, or ability in the game that affects "everything". It will always state in the description what sort of things that it affects or does not affect. Normally this will read something like "enemy models" or perhaps something even more restricted than that such as "enemy warrior models" or something.
There are a couple of spell that temporarily create terrain such as raising a rock wall or summoning a small forest, but I cannot think of a single thing that can affect pre-existing terrain.
02-01-2010, 06:31 AM
Tell your friend to stop being so creative with the rules...unless of course you don't mind house ruling it.
Since you both play Khador and fluff wise would likely be fighting each other in the frozen north, I would actually say that the upper layers of the lake are frozen and jacks and units can cross as if it were difficult terrain (1/2 move). However, any time a medium or large base begins its activation or enters the "lake" area, center a 3" template on the model and roll a d6. If the roll is less than or equal to the number of Large or Medium bases under the template, the ice cracks and sends the model and any others under the template to the bottom of the lake (remove them from the game). Then place a suitable marker down representing the area as impassible for all but amphibious jacks. (Cryx could have alot of fun with this one!)
Thus you can move across it, but trying to melee on it is very risky business indeed.
02-01-2010, 06:50 AM
Well borrow someones menoth and next time he hides his stuff in the woods, use Cleansers or Repenter to FLAME the woods, setting them on fire doing POW 25 dmg to everything in the forest.
JUST make sure you place a forest in the center of the table :)
02-01-2010, 08:02 AM
Yeah... that's definately a new one. Lemme guess, he also thinks he can shoot the ground with his Destroyers and claims that he auto-hits because it's the ground? That's a false one as well that we've actually heard every now and again.
The "freeze water so everyone can go over it" thing... that's just crazy.
Or you can tell him that next time everyone's on the "frozen lake" your hit it with your Bombard or whatever and cause it to crack, sending everyone down to the bottom of that lake. Happens all the time.
02-01-2010, 08:46 AM
Although he does get an A for creativity...LOL
02-01-2010, 09:47 AM
Well, like everyone else said, there aren't any rules for that sort of thing. Spells in this game almost universally affect models. :) The spell or ability in question will almost always explicitly state what it can affect.
If you want to play with rules for this sort of thing, there was a No Quarter magazine from a while ago with "frozen water" rules in it. I think it might've been No Quarter #13, but I can't promise that's correct right now. If I get the chance, I'll look for it later.
Polar Bear also provided some useful info. Be sure to heed what he (she?) tells you.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.