View Full Version : Long Rider Slam Damage, Follow-Up questions
11-26-2009, 01:18 PM
So, the Long Rider bull rush order currently indicates that
1) This is a slam power attack (as distinct from a Power Attack Effect from other Source, p. 25 of the rulebook)
2) A *slammed* model takes a hit with POW of mount
However, the core rules say that a model is only *slammed* if the attacker moved at least 3". Does this mean that if a Long Rider bull rushes, but doesn't move at least 3", the hit model just takes a POW 7 (equal to the STR of the model)? That seems to be what happens RAW, but counter to the intent.
One other, simpler question: when is a slam considered to be resolved for the purposes of Follow-Up? More specifically, is it possible to Follow-Up on a boxed model before it's removed, or does killing the target preclude the move since it's no longer in play after the slam is resolved?
11-26-2009, 01:38 PM
You need to follow the rules for Slamming when you make a Bull Rush attack because it is as the order states a Slam Power Attack. So if the model doesn't move at least 3 inches it doesn't make a successful Slam attack. The order states that you use the POW of the mount instead of the STR of the model for the POW of the Slam attack, so if the Long Rider moved less than 3 inches it still uses the POW of the Mount but the model will not be slammed away.
The Follow Up question has been asked before and the answer No you cannot use Follow Up on a model that has been destroyed by a Slam Attack because it is removed from the board as part of the slam attack and Follow Up works after you resolve the Slam attack and since the model is not on the board at this point there is no model to move directly towards.
11-26-2009, 01:43 PM
That's not quite it though. Per p.24 a successful slam just requires that the movement be ended within .5" of the target. However, the target isn't *slammed* unless 3" of movement occurred, and the text on the Long Riders specifically says to use the POW of the mount on a *slammed* target.
Again, I'm guessing (albeit not sure) that the intent is that it's POW 14 regardless, but RAW right now it seems like it's a POW 7 unless 3" movement is done, which may need some rewording.
11-26-2009, 01:47 PM
If a slamming model makes a successful slam but moved less
than 3 ˝, it has not moved fast enough to get its full weight and
power into the blow. The model makes an attack roll against its
target. If the target is hit, it suffers a damage roll with a POW
equal to the attacker’s current STR but is not slammed. These
are still slam attack rolls and slam damage rolls.
Check out the bold portion. A slam attack were the attacking model moves less than 3 inches is still a slam attack, it just means that the model is not slammed (moved) from the attacking model.
11-26-2009, 01:53 PM
Right, but (from the Long Rider text):
"A slammed model suffers a damage roll with POW equal to the current POW of this modelʼs Mount ICON."
Note that this is specifically for *a slammed model* not *a model hit by the slam attack* so as written it doesn't cover the case of a model being *hit by a slam attack* but not *slammed,* i.e. slamming model didn't move 3", meaning it'd use the fallback case of STR of model. See the difference I'm talking about?
11-26-2009, 04:36 PM
OP is technically correct, the language could be a bit better.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.