eStryker epic fail... vs. Vlad1
I'm a new player to Warmachine, but this is going down in my memory banks forever!
Here is the scenario:
Ol' Rowdy is sitting at the edge of a hill. Not so bad, but I was baited into moving him there and my Black 13th are within 2-3" of him. eStryker is several inches behind Rowdy. Vlad is parked several inches behind Draco, but within assassination range.
Draco charges Ol' Rowdy, with the intention of wiping out both him and the Black 13th. He misjudges the distance and fails to engage either. His turn ends.
Since Rowdy has no angle on Vlad, I move him to engage Draco and go for the assassination. I activate the Black 13th, move them to clear Stryker's charge lane and take 4 shots at Vlad. All 4 miss. Undaunted, I activate Stryker (with all 6 Focus) and velocity for 3 to get him into charge range. Overload for 3, adding 13 strength and taking 10 damage. I boost to hit on the charge. MISS! Buy an attack. MISS!! Buy an attack. MISS!!! Pop my feat. MISS!!!! ummm... pass my turn and watch Stryker get beat to a pulp.
We are both laughing so hard at this point the entire LGS crowd comes over and we had to explain the situation like 4 times.
Yea that sucks...I've had Stryker wiff before.
High-DEF casters are diffifult for eStryker to assassinate if you need to use Velocity. It might have been a better choice to go after his warjack instead. That Positive Charge can make a huge difference, it technically gives eStryker MAT9/PS17. Maybe you should have ran rowdy up close to pVlad and soaked a free strike to get Postive Charge off. Drew a scetch of what I meant.
Once had almost the same thing happen to me.
eStryker and Ol' Rowdy, combined, attacked a Circle HVY beast, Ol' Rowdy with 2 FOC, eStryker with 5 FOC. Ol' Rowdy charged, snake eyes on attack roll, hit with off hand, 3 damage total, missed with 2nd and 3rd attacks. eStryker charges, overpower (2 dice - +4 STR - 12 damage) missed, another snake eye, buy attack, miss, another attack, hit, 2 damage, another attack, miss, another attack, miss, last attack, miss.
9 attacks, 2 hits, total damage to beast - 5, total damage to eStryker - 12.
Rolled over a 4 three times twice against beast, (both to hit rolls) and once - the 12 damage I took from Overpower.
Every time I read about an EStryker Epic Fail, I wonder if it will be the infamous "triple sixes on overload on the game-winning assassination run" situation.
This is somehow more hilarious.