That seems like an odd rule. I mean, I get the part about if you don't get to your charge target your activation should end. But if your intent is to charge and kill a model, and you kill them with an attack linked to your movement (say, assault or impact attacks), I don't see why your activation should end. I understand the rule, but not the reason (in this case).
Can you choose to not make an impact attack role against your target? I assume by stopping your charge movement before getting base to base with anything and after getting into melee range of your charge target. But if you do get base to base with something, can you choose to not make impact attacks?
Impact attacks are not mandatory, you may choose to trigger it or not.
Rasheth 2012: Chains we can believe in!
Can the war wagon charge a single model, make impact attacks against all the models after it moves into b2b, then make the charge attack, then make the two ranged attacks?
My Trollbloods: http://privateerpressforums.com/show...s-painting-log
andIf a charging model ends its charge movement without its charge target in its melee range, then it has made a failed charge. If a model makes a failed charge during its activation, its activation immediately ends.
If the charge target is the first model contacted by the charging cavalry model, the charging model can still make an impact attack against it.
So in your example, you get to the charge target, you make an impact attack on it and everthing else within .5 of the wagon. And since you made it into contact with the charge target, you still get to shoot. Of course if you kill the target with the impact, you can't attack it... duh.. cause it's dead. But you made it to the target before you stopped, so you are ok.
And you will get to shoot.
Now change it to impact attacks before you reach the charge target... you MIGHT not get into .5 inches with the target and in THAT case, you don't get the charge attack or the guns.