I had an interesting rules interaction in my last night?s game. My opponent argued that take-up breaks my berserk chain, and that if I destroyed a model that had take-up, I would not get the extra attack generated by destroying said model.
"Take Up - If this model is destroyed or removed from play, you can choose a Grunt in this unit within 1˝ of this model to take its place. Effects on this model expire, and it gains the effects on the chosen Grunt. Remove the Grunt from the table instead of this model. This model has the same number of unmarked damage boxes as the chosen Grunt."
?Berserk ? When this model destroys one or more models with a melee attach during its combat action, immediately after the attack is resolved it must make one additional melee attach against another models in its melee range?
My understanding is the following steps would occur:
1. You get to the destroyed step for the model with Take Up.
2. At this point, Take up & Berserk requirements are satisfied,
3. Take Up would trigger as it happens at the point of the model being destroyed.
4. After take-up is resolved the actions would be combat over and effect of berserk would trigger.
My opponent argued that since the model that was destroyed was his choosing instead of mine, my berserk attack technically did not destroy a model. My argument is that both of these abilities trigger on the model hit in combat being destroyed,( I.E if that model was not destroyed take-up would not trigger) thus both abilities requirements are met, so take-up and the additional attack generated by Berserk will occur.