Storm Strider vs Reach
Had two conflicting opinions from different gamers on this, so thought I'd take it to the forums.
Let's say a warjack with a reach weapon charges my storm strider, and manages to get 'base to base'. It hits with both its first and second attack, and so is pushed back a total of 2 inches, but does not manage to kill the storm strider.
Assuming my opponent has enough focus on the warjack to buy another attack, is he allowed to make a further attack at this point to try and finish the strider off, or is he out of melee range?
The arguments of each I've summarised below:
NO, YOU CAN'T ATTACK:
There is always at least 1 atom of distance between two objects, and so nothing can be truly 'base to base' in the mathematical sense. Under this scenario, having been pushed back 2 inches, the warjack is now technically 2 inches plus an infinitisamally small amount away from the storm strider, and so is outside of its melee range and unable to attack.
YES, YOU CAN ATTACK:
Under the above assumption of 1 atom of distance, the entire game system would break down when it comes to objectives, as these frequently require a model to be in 'base to base' in order to gain a point at the end of the turn. As nothing could ever technically be in base to base contact, there'd be no way to claim these objectives. It is therefore obvious that one should be allowed to attack a storm strider with a third attack in combat.
Who is right here?
Last edited by CygnarWar; 06-08-2012 at 03:59 PM.
Reach is anything within 2" of the model for melee range (pendant to normal targetting rules). 2" is within 2", ergo, the warjack may buy another attack.
Originally Posted by jandrese
Originally Posted by Steampunk Jim
There is a rule in this game that says: "if 2 models are exactly X inches away (2 in this case) from each other, they are within X inches of each other"
So yes you can attack.
P. 30 of Prime.
And base to base is defined as 0'' away, so no issues with single atoms.