Hey all, this came up in a game last night and I wanted to get official clarification on it.
If a model with a ranged magic attack (ie. Force bolt) is engaged in melee, can they cast the spell either at the model they are engaged with or out of that melee? My opponent was citing pg. 78 of Primal, 2nd column, first paragraph: "Unlike ranged attacks, being in melee does not prevent a model from casting a spell." I believe this to be referring a) to warnouns and b) not excluding the normal rule of "no ranged attacks of any kind in melee unless you have gunfighter."