I was reading about the Gatecrasher eCain Assassination thread.
Basically, Example 1: eCaine charges a model (friendly or enemy) attacks that model with his charge attack, then casts Gatecrasher, and buys ranged attacks at the enemy Warnoun (0.6" -12" away)
Example 2: eCaine charges a model (friendly or enemy) then casts Gatecrasher (after charge move, before charge attack) engaging the Warnoun, uses charge attack and buys ranged attacks at the enemy Warnoun (0.5" away)
I believe example 1 breaks the rules.
I believe example 2 is within the rules.
Quoting from prime:
A model with the Gunfighter advantage has a melee range of 0.5 ˝ and can make ranged attacks targeting models in its melee range. ...
Remember that Gunfighter does not allow this model to make melee and ranged attacks during the same activation.
A charging model that ends its charge movement with its charge target in its melee range has made a successful
charge. It must use its action to make a combat action, choosing to make either initial melee attacks or (if it can
make a special attack with a melee weapon) a melee special attack.
After making a charge attack during its activation, the charging model completes its combat action normally. If the charging model cannot make its first melee attack against the charge target, the charging model can make its first melee attack against another eligible target, but this is not a charge attack. It does not lose its first attack.
Focus: Additional Attack
This model can spend focus to make additional melee or ranged attacks as part of its combat action (see "Combat
Actions," p. 28). It can make one additional attack for each focus point spent.
Unless noted otherwise, a model cannot make both melee and ranged attacks in the same combat action. A model can make additional attacks after a special attack or power attack.