So before I delve headlong into the 'how many angels...' nature of my argument here are the questions; Does the game make a distinction between placement effects functioning with models that are in play (pseudo-movement) and placement affects putting models into play (pseudo-deployment)? Assuming such a distinction exists is pseudo-deployment to be given the benefit of the doubt when a conflict arises?
First of all its worth noting that the entry in both of the big books says nothing that suggests such a difference exists in the actual entry under placement. Thing is though, when you start looking at specific models, anomalies crop up. Gallows Groves and Tiberion both have innate rules preventing placement affects while in play but there's an infernal ruling allowing the tree's, and one presumes the titan, to be put into play as reinforcements. Celestial fulcrum likewise has a no placement clause but paradoxically must be placed in accordance with predeployment, and its going to be getting some company in that regard with the incoming colossals/gargantuans.
Then there's Garryth's Vortex Lock. The phrase 'moved by place effects' is problematic from a rar perspective considering both of the big books point out that placement is not movement, movement is not placement, and ner the twain shall meet. For it to function as intended there needs to be a mechanism in the rules that draws a line between pseudo-movement and pseudo-deployment that to my knowledge isn't in the book.
Destroyer of Worlds
There's a simple answer to your question: There's a difference between placement and deployment, and no such thing as "pseudo-placement" or "pseudo-movement". If you would like a specific answer, you should ask a specific question.
Arguments trying to conflate the two to the extent that a model could not possibly be used in the game have already been dealt with by the Infernals.
Alright then, how does Vortex Lock distinguish between Spectral Legion/Excarnate and Slipstream/Apparition? Why does it stop one placement effect and not the other?
Last edited by agent red; 06-21-2012 at 11:11 AM.
Because the model isnt in the CTRL area to be affected by the feat, they are off the table.
Originally Posted by agent red
Destroyer of Worlds
I agree with Crate123's answer.
A model that is not in play (or a model off the table) is not in Garryth's control area, and thus is not subject to the feat. Once the model has been placed in his control area, it cannot be placed again, but it still has to get there first.
Originally Posted by Vortex Lock
Also, the words "be moved by place effects" really just mean "be placed" and the difference in phrasing can be attributed to the fact that the Retribution faction book was written during the transition between Mk I and Mk II.
Last edited by solkan; 06-21-2012 at 11:48 AM.