in melee question
say i have a model with reach and is within 2 inches of enemy model but still outside of 1/2 inch melee, so if i want to shoot at the model that is in melee does the model get the in melee bonus or not didnt know if he is still counted as being in melee cause he is not within half inch of my model, although my model has reach and within 2 inches of it. hope that makes sense
Destroyer of Worlds
It's irrelevant whether the model is also within half an inch. If it's within the melee range of the model with a reach weapon, i.e. it's within 2" of the model, then it's in melee.
Remember that a model's melee range is the longest range of its usable weapons.
A model is in melee when it meets either (or both) of the following conditions:
1. It is engaging an enemy model (the enemy model is within its melee range).
2. It is engaged by an enemy model (it is in an enemy model's melee range).
So, since in your example the target is in your own reach range, it is engaged, and thus in melee.
Infernal since 30 September 2011
It reads the rulebook or it gets the hose again.
Originally Posted by Prime, p.30