Hello all, first post! I did a good amount of searching and couldn't directly address my question:
Can a model with Beat Back opt not to push a target and still advance?
Real World Example:
1. Bronzeback uses animus and charges the left side of a beast.
2. Bronzeback hits, chooses not to push, and then advances 1" around the front arc.
3. Repeat untill bronzeback has advanced to the right side of the beast.
I know of the ruling when you can advance even if a model is killed, as well as the infernal ruling stating that you may advance even if the model cannot be pushed based on the fact that it doesn't require a successful push. I believe the exact Infernal ruling is "'After the push' is a Sequencing rule not a Conditional rule.". This implies that rather than being conditional on the outcome of the push, all it requires is that a push was attempted prior in the sequence.
However, both of those situations have the "Pusher" attempting to trigger the Beat Back ability. If a player opts to not trigger the push, it stands to reason that they also forgo the advance as no push was attempted to trigger the "after the push" sequencing rule.
Thanks in Advance!