The electro pods that he puts out, do they need a direct LOS to work, so for instance will they still work across a cloud effect, obstacles or forests etc.
Also do friendly models get hit when walking into the templates placed down by the guns?
appreciate any assistance.
Nothing in the entry for the lightning pods indicates that line of sight is required to place them, nor to get the initial damage roll. Also, nothing in the entry for Stormsmiths' Surge and Triangulation actions indicates that they must have line of sight to the other points of the Surge or Triangulation. The Stormsmiths must have LOS to the model(s) they wish to target with the lightning strikes, but that is all.
For the covering fire AOEs, a friendly model would be affected, as the rules entry does not specify "enemy models" or anything like that.
However, friendly models in the template when it is placed are unaffected if they either: already activated OR leave the template during their activation. Sort of interesting that it's accurate enough with its hail of bullets to not shoot friendlies in those situations, but not if they walk into the field of fire
thankyou for that, its interesting that it does say if you draw a line between the pod and the colossal any enemy model in that line is hit, and does not talk of line of sight. so it suggests its a very controlled arc of lightning, missing buildings, friendly models unpassable terrain etc.