(From the Warmachine Mk2 cards pdf on the main page)
"Self-Sacrifice - If this model is disabled by an enemy attack, you can choose another model in this unit within 3˝ of this model to
be destroyed. If another model is destroyed as a result of Self-Sacrifice, this model heals 1 damage point."
I have two questions on how this can be used beyond just controlling where casualties are taken. I've looked over this rule several times, and as far as I know, these two examples are perfectly legal, but the rule is also unusually-wored compared to the original, so if these examples cannot be done, I'd like to see the rule(s) that prevent it.
Two errants are hit with a blast weapon, the opponant rolls to wound and kills an errant. Using Self-sacrifice, I remove the second errant who would have also been rolled on, and revive the first errant. Since the second errant died, the opponant only got to make that one damage roll, since there is no reason why they'd be allowed to make two damage rolls on a single model. This would effectively half whatever casualties are inflicted on the squad in a case where a single simultanious attack hits multiple errants.
A model with a rule that triggers as a result of killing a model(such as Rayvn, Eternal Light's Quick Work, which begins; "When this model destroys one or more enemy models..."), If such an attack would have destroyed an errant, Self-sacrifice triggers prior to the model being actually 'destroyed', and another model is destroyed instead. Since the model was destroyed as a result of it's own unit's special rule, and not because of the enemy's attack(as I understand it 'disabled' is a trigger that occurs before the model counts as being actually destroyed), this special rule would not trigger. This would, for the most part, negate any model's special rules that are explained as "When this model destroys- etc."
Are both these uses of Self-Sacrifice legitimate? If not, why?