Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Default Monster Question thread, part 2, Questions 27-50

    27) Can "Blur" and "Keep your head down" be used on a downed commando? I do not see any reason why not. The downed card says "YOU cannot use YOUR kit card abilities." So I assume someone else can still use his own abilities on the downed commando.

    28) For mission 4, how do you determine range to the door? we calculated it such that if an enemy had range 6, and the 6th space was one of the two squares on the door tile, then the door was in range.

    29) I am sure this has been explained, but is there any way to use "revive" effectively? I carelessly allowed my rifleman to be downed. I then revived him immediately. But he remains in "downed" stance for the remainder of my commando phase AND throughout the subsequent overseer phase? At least, that is how the rules appear to be written. And med packs have no effect, and he cannot use his kit card to heal himself, so what was the point in my reviving him? I was powerless to do anything except watch him get immediately killed by the overseer. Were we doing this correctly?



    30. When is a red die added for a melee attack against a maxed commando? (I think this has been answered elsewhere, but I am not sure):

    Is the sequence:

    1. overseer declares attack and weapon
    2. Overseer sets the dice
    3. Commandos perform any defensive interrupts, if desired
    4. Dice are rolled?

    or

    1. overseer declares attack and weapon
    2. Commandos perform any defensive interrupts, if desired
    3. Overseer sets the dice
    4. Dice are rolled?

    In the first scenario, if a commando uses a defensive upgrade on himself that costs 1 adrenaline and thus maxes him, the overseer does not roll an extra red die.

    In the second scenario, he does.



    31. I do not understand the special rules for mission 5. If crisis point is reached, the lab tech can be attacked even when next to a commando? The lab tech has terrible defense and is unlikely to survive any attack. Why doesn’t it just say “at the end of the 8th turn, game over for commandos”?

    Meanwhile, the overseer gains NO extra benefits until the crisis point? Is there any way for the overseer to win? I made multiple tactical blunders (allowed the recon to die immediately, left my sentry drone to die by forgetting to move or attack or with it after it had already miraculously survived once, placed napalm in the wrong place because I failed to notice there was an enemy gate in the room) but still won somewhat easily with one turn to spare. I didn’t bother reviving the recon; I just dragged his downed body along for the duration.

    32. Can a warrior clone spawn and use seeker? Previous threads indicate that a spawn at a gate or vent counts as “having moved” for purposes of an interrupt attack from a commando (or for the trip mine). But I still think a spawned warrior clone could use seeker if it does not move when activated. Is that right?

    33. Mission 5 again: Can the lab tech open a door mid-move and keep moving? My interpretation is “yes,” since it just says he needs to spend a movement point to open it. So, he can move 3, open door, then move 2 more. Overseer ruined this by placing a fear hunter right at the entrance to the room, forcing me to abort any further movement. Was this all correct? (we resolved the room as soon as the lab tech opened it, allowing him to place the fear hunter in the way; I could have moved more if the overseer had not blocked my path with a fear hunter or other enemies).

    34. Team leader reposition: When he moves himself or another character two spaces, what happens if there is rubble? What about diagonals if he or the other figure have already moved or will later move on a diagonal? This is similar to my earlier question about moving the recon with his free space after a melee attack. I see no reason to apply the rule differently, so I think the moved commandos should be able to “reposition” 2 spaces, rubble or not. I don’t know what to do about the diagonals; we have just been playing that the reposition can use a diagonal that does not count as the 1 diagonal during that commando’s actual moving, but that the reposition is limited to 1 diagonal per commando. The diagonal rule allows only one diagonal per turn, but when a commando is being repositioned by the TL, it is no longer that commando's turn, so I do not see the TL moving him on a diagonal as a violation of the "only one diagonal" rule.

    35. The card for the Rifleman’s M501 is ambiguous. “If either attack is against a clone, use 4 red dice instead of black.” Our assumption was that this means only to add the red for the attack against a clone (if attacking one clone and one non-clone), but technically, that is not how the card is written. Then again, the M501 is a shotgun, right? Which means it hits two people because of spread fire, which means maybe BOTH attacks should be with a red die? Even if only one target is a clone?

    36. The heavy support specialist’s interrupt: can he use it on his own turn? (see next question for why one would want to do this odd action). Must he be facing the right way if interrupting during the overseer’s turn, or can he turn and then shoot? Since it talks about LOS, I assume he cannot interrupt an enemy moving behind him. Also, it says “When an enemy moves into your LOS…” does this mean he CANNOT interrupt a warrior clone who is ALREADY in LOS but shoots his seeker without moving?

    37. Procedural errors: What happens if a commando acts out of turn? Is the other commando skipped altogether? But what if the commando with initiative card “3” gained an advantage by acting before the commando with imitative card “2”? Can the overseer then cancel that entire turn and force commando 2 to act? If someone with an interrupt accidentally leaves himself with 2 or more adrenaline, can he later attack during the commando phase during another commando’s turn using his own interrupt? This came up in my game when I inexplicably left the heavy with adrenaline to spare (I think I was going to throw a grenade, changed my mind, then forgot to do ANYTHING at all and acted with the next commando). What if the attacker rolls too many dice by mistake but it is caught only after the roll? We have been playing that the attacker is punished, and the defender can choose to accept or reject the invalid roll. If the rifleman forgets to move or use the taunter or sentry drone on his turn, then other commandos start acting, is that just “too bad”? We have been playing it that way. I have accidentally left my drones to die many times this way. Playing all 5 commandos by oneself is difficult. Also, does the rifleman need to announce "guard?" In the case where I left it to die by forgetting to do anything with it, we did allow me to blast the first clone that tried to attack it. Comedy ensued when the 2nd and only other rogue clone missed with 4 dice, then on the next turn the first attacker missed again... the second (and still final) attacker finally put it away. Am I the only one who tries to use all 5 commandos by himself? I cannot get through one mission (heck, barely one turn) without some sort of major error).

    38. If TL uses “fire” does the shooter get two attacks if he ordinarily would? I say “yes” for the rifleman’s M501 and “No” for heavy Support Specialist's strafing fire. Strafing fire specifically says “if you attack with the M62 on your turn…” The rifleman’s M501 makes no such distinction. I assume all kit cards from all commandos would be in effect.

    39. I somehow seem to have gotten confused about this: Is the falling rubble from cave-in a hazard? In other words, can a downed commando be killed pre-crisis point by a cave in?

    40. Anti-Ghin gas grenade: Does this only work if an enemy MOVES into it? What if there is a crowd of warrior clones and I throw the grenade onto all of them. But next turn, they all remain in place and fire the seeker. Do they pay extra for the gas grenade?

    41. Clone flankers – “you can spawn three clones at another vent….” Does this mean you CANNOT spawn any more than 2 at the first vent? This seems highly limiting to me. In a 5 commando game, the overseer often has only one vent and no gate for a turn or two. During that time, all he can do is spawn 2 clones? They’ll die instantly without inflicting any damage. We have been allowing overseer to spawn 5 at one vent, giving him the option (but not the requirement) to spawn some at another vent. I realize we are probably NOT playing that as RAW, but during the overseer's first turn, I have usually wiped out all his room spawns, and if he doesn't have a gate and doesn't spend his adrenaline, he has to discard down to 10 anyway, so I do not like the idea of severely limiting the one move he can make. As it is, the overseer already has to waste some of his adrenaline on a pointless and futile "surprise" attack, since a longshot range attack with 3 dice against 4 defense is better than just discarding it anyway at the end of his turn.

    42. A tile with a vent picture on it (not the faulty Intel side): Does this mean that tile /square gets a free vent? For example, tile 14B on mission 6?

    43. If the heavy support specialist combines “recoil compensation” with “enhanced targeting” does he have to reroll the 3 black dice all at once? Or can he first use “recoil compensation” on two blanks from the black dice, then use “enhanced targeting” if one of those rerolls is a blank?

    44. If the recon uses spotter, it applies to enemies within 5 spaces of him – at the time he uses the ability? Or at the time the attack is made? Enemies and the recon may end up in different places by the end of the turn, but I assume the rule is meant to apply to the 5 space aura when the ability is used.

    45. Does each use of the sentry count as a separate action by the rifleman? We assume yes during mission 6, resulting in the following sequence:

    1. Rifleman announces a move for the sentry
    2. Overseer interrupts with a surprise attack
    3. Rifleman completes the move
    4. Rifleman announces an attack by the sentry
    5. Overseer surprise attacks rifleman again
    6. The rifleman survives, so the sentry fires
    7. Rifleman can then do something else, if he wishes and has the adrenaline.



    46. When exactly does an interrupt happen? Presumably before the interrupted action occurs, right? So if the rifleman announces he is spawning the taunter drone and is interrupted by a surprise attack, he does not yet gain the defense of the taunter drone, right?

    47. For clarification, is there any limit to the number of times the team leader can use "Fire" on his turn? I see no reason why he cannot use it three times in a row.

    48. During a cave-in, can the rubble markers be placed on (underneath) a figure or marker? I haven't seen anything indicating otherwise. (Edit: It actually does forbid this, in the explanation on the dashboard puzzle piece itself. My friend and I believe this makes an already expensive attack too feeble to be worth the cost. It also just seems odd - why would a commando standing in particular spot prevent the ceiling from caving in? This also means a 5 commando team with a taunter and sentry drone can prevent a cave in by standing somewhat close together.)

    49. Sentry drone spawn location: Suppose the rifleman is diagonal to an empty square that he would not be allowed to move to legally, because there are two enemies on the adjacent squares (or an enemy and a wall):

    R C

    C ?

    The R is the rifleman, an the C are clones.

    Can he spawn the rifleman on the "?" space? This is unclear, though I would be inclined to say "no."



    50. Some commandos can add a red die to the attack for one adrenaline (if not adjacent to an enemy).

    If the Team leader uses "fire" to have one of those commandos shoot, and if that other commando is not yet at max adrenaline, can that shooting commando augment his attack with that extra red die?

    A) The rule does say "... you can increase your adrenaline by 1 to add a red die to an attack with this weapon." (In other words, it doesn't say "on your turn," the way it does with the Heavy's "Strafing fire.")

    B) On the other hand, I cannot think of any situation in which a commando can do anything to increase his own adrenaline on someone else's turn unless 1) he is using an interrupt or 2) The CMS uses "pacifier," a card that specifically allows that as part of the card's ability.


    51. (From another thread on this site):
    “Any commando that is doing an action is an acting commando for the purposes of Surprise Attack. That includes commandos who are doing free actions. Reposition allows another commando to move two spaces when the Team Leader uses it. That movement counts as a move action so it can be interrupted.”

    I would then interpret this to mean that the following also hold true:
    A) When the CMS uses “pacifier,” both the CMS and the person whose action he is paying for can be interrupted by the overseer.
    B) When the Team Leader uses “Fire,” Both the TL and the firing commando can be interrupted.

    Is that correct?

    52) I am pretty sure I read somewhere that once the rifleman is killed, his Sentry drone fails to operate. But what about his other gadgets, such as the Taunter Drone or the Hobbler drone? (The triggered explosive explicitly states that the rifleman must detonate it, so I assume that one clearly does not work once the rifleman is killed).

    Additionally, what if the rifleman is not killed, but downed? How would this affect a Sentry Drone, Taunter Drone, Hobbler Drone, or triggered explosive?

    Similarly, if the recon is downed or killed, does his trip mine still work? And Napalm for the Heavy Support specialist? And the Gas Grenade for the Team Leader?

    [edit: The errata says that a downed rifleman loses control of the sentry. Presumably the same is true for the Trigger explosive. It seems to me that the Gas grenade, Napalm, and trip mine would still function if its commando is killed, because once they are thrown or deployed, they need no further command from the commando who deployed it. The Hobbler drone and Taunter drone could go either way. Thoughts? ]

    53) The Hobbler drone card says “Choose one clone or hybrid within 8 spaces regardless of LOS…..”

    So far, this makes sense, I think? So, an aura of 8, and does not require LOS.

    Then, the card continues, “… not using walls….”

    What exactly does that mean? Can we or can’t we ignore a wall when placing the hobbler drone? The first part seems to say “yes” (“regardless of LOS”) and the second part seems to say “no” (“not using walls”).

    54) Survivalist – what exactly constitutes a map element? Is it just peril and corrosive gas? Does it apply to cave-ins? I assume it does not protect him from the trip mine, triggered explosive, or napalm.

    55) Napalm – we have been assuming that it is okay if part of the hazard donut is off the map (otherwise it would be useless in a width-2 corridor). But is it okay if the center is on a wall space, as long as that wall space is in LOS?

    56) The reject removes an extra wound token at the start of a turn. So, in a 4 or 5 commando game, the reject can remove two wound tokens?

    57) If an enemy is within aura of two handlers, so the abilities Control, Drive, and assist stack?

    58) For mission 7, "Clone reinforcements" is not listed as part of the dashboard. is that intentional, or an oversight?

    59) When Chronos is next to a ghin or hybrid, he cannot be attacked. Can he still be hurt by the trip mine, since that can only be set off by overseer actions? I assume Chronos can also be hurt by a cave-in. What about Napalm and Triggered explosive? Those are direct attacks by the commando, which would appear to be disallowed by the protection of a ghin or hybrid. If so, does that mean a commando cannot detonate a napalm grenade or triggered explosive anywhere that would include a protected Chronos in its aura? Or does it just mean Chronos would not roll for damage?

    60) Overseer opening doors: I thought it might help to review the scenarios for Crisis point door opening, since I have seen some possibly contradictory information.

    At Crisis point:
    Mission 1: Overseer can open 1 door for free.
    Missions 2 and 3: Overseer cannot open doors unless using a fear hunter.
    Missions 4,5 and 6: Overseer can pay to open a door.
    Mission 8: No doors
    Mission 9: All doors open

    Mission 7: ??

    Someone made flash cards detailing the various missions' key events and crisis point effects, and on mission 7, it has "Overseer can pay 5 to open a door." But, I do not see this in the mission guide or the errata. Is that accurate for mission 7? [Edit: I don't see why it would, since overseer has the dashboard ability to use impending ambush in mission 7.]

    61) Peril spaces: How do these work? Tile 15B, for example, has peril squares. If you run across one of them, you roll for damage. But what if you (for some reason) move laterally along the peril squares, from one to another. Do you roll again? Or is it like the gas cloud, only one wound (or roll for wound) per time entering a series of peril squares?

    But, then what if you enter a peril square, move off it to a safe square, then re-enter the peril square (for example, to retrieve a flashlight or to heal another commando or something)? And of course, a fear hunter can always use knockback to cause a commando to re-enter a peril area.

    Also, what if a commando ends a turn on a peril square and begins his next turn on it? Does he roll again for damage?

    Also, do the overseer's characters roll for damage on peril squares?

    62) After crisis point, I had a downed commando who tried to move but was surprise attacked and killed immediately. This is valid, right? Surprise attack says it has to be used against the acting commando; it does not say it is limited to use on an active commando, and in this case, the downed commando, though not active, was still acting.

    63) Triggered explosive question:

    A) "If you do not have LOS to the marker, you can detonate it any time during your turn." Does this mean the rifleman CAN detonate it within the explosive's blast zone, as long as he is facing the other way? That seems odd, and probably not what the card intended, since I assume the card intended the rifleman to be out of the blast radius whether he has LOS or not. (I ask because yesterday we had a clump of 11 figures in the blast radius, and I was willing to just detonate the thing and kill all the bad guys and deal with my own wounds later).

    B) The triggered explosive does NOT work like the trip mine, right? It is detonated at one specific instant, hitting anything in its aura of 2, but then it removed and does not hit anything else that later passes through that area? For example, I had one sitting on a vent. Overseer spawned 2 clones at that vent. (Keep in mind that we play a house rule that you can spawn 5 clones at a vent if desired). I was tempted to detonate the explosive, but, if I did, he would have had enough adrenaline to refresh the clone flankers ability twice, then spawn 5 warrior clones, and use them to down a commando who was in weak range defense. So, I left the triggered explosive alone, just in case he had that in mind. Was I correct to worry about this? Or would the triggered explosive actually work like the land mind and take out anything that spawns from or moves out of that vent for an entire turn?

    C) If a triggered explosive is in place, does it remain there until detonated by the rifleman?

    D) If the rifleman does not like where the triggered explosive is, does he have to detonate it and then place it down in the new spot? Or can he just place it in the new spot, automatically removing it from the old spot without detonation?

    E) Can he, in fact, on his turn, detonate an already existing triggered explosive, and then, using his adrenaline on his turn, place another one? Possibly even placing it on the exact same spot?
    Last edited by FrankJones; 11-04-2015 at 10:05 AM.

  2. #2
    Game Developer PPS_Oz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankJones View Post
    27) Can "Blur" and "Keep your head down" be used on a downed commando? I do not see any reason why not. The downed card says "YOU cannot use YOUR kit card abilities." So I assume someone else can still use his own abilities on the downed commando.
    You are correct, a downed commando is still targetable by active commando abilities.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PPS_Oz View Post
    You are correct, a downed commando is still targetable by active commando abilities.
    cool. Welcome to the new thread, Will. As always, thanks for taking the time to respond.

  4. #4
    Game Developer PPS_Oz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankJones View Post
    28) For mission 4, how do you determine range to the door? we calculated it such that if an enemy had range 6, and the 6th space was one of the two squares on the door tile, then the door was in range.
    This is a similar issue to question 7 in the other thread. You played it correctly. The marker is the door, so you count range to the closest space on the marker.

  5. #5
    Game Developer PPS_Oz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankJones View Post
    29) I am sure this has been explained, but is there any way to use "revive" effectively? I carelessly allowed my rifleman to be downed. I then revived him immediately. But he remains in "downed" stance for the remainder of my commando phase AND throughout the subsequent overseer phase? At least, that is how the rules appear to be written. And med packs have no effect, and he cannot use his kit card to heal himself, so what was the point in my reviving him? I was powerless to do anything except watch him get immediately killed by the overseer. Were we doing this correctly?
    I'm a little confused about the details of your timing description. What do you mean by "get immediately killed by the overseer"?

    It sounds like you used the cards correctly. A downed commando that is revived continues to use a Downed card instead of a stance card until the next commando planning phase. Then he can switch to a normal stance card. During the commando activation phase, following that planning phase, the commando can heal himself or be healed by other commandos. Since the overseer can't attack a downed commando until Crisis Point, the commando is safe as long as he is using the Downed card.

    If you are saying that you revived a downed commando after the Crisis Point, it is a totally different thing. There is no reason to revive a commando after the Crisis Point has been triggered unless you can guarantee that he will not be successfully attacked until after the next planning phase.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •