Earlier I posted a thread on the Rules forum asking about the interaction between "Clear!" and a model suffering blast damage:
In that thread, I asked some questions which I was told would be better to field here. Here's the relevant summary, and the questions I would like answered:
I would like clarification on this particular rules interaction (or lack thereof as the case may be). Specifically, why is this non-interaction structured the way it is? Hopefully if I can get an answer to this, I can better understand the game.
- Was this ability intended to be used with the Mortar Crew, and the words just don't work out? Or was this intended to be used with the Field Gun, and it's fine that the wording excludes the Mortar Crew from benefiting?
- Note: I respect and understand that this ability is technically capable of targetting the Mortar Crew, and technically functions as written. This question is asked from more of a subjective/tactical standpoint. In my opinion, RAT 1 is so unlikely to hit ANY model even with back strike bonuses, that it is unlikely that using this ability on the mortar crew is an efficient use of the ability. The Mortar Crew would gain more benefit from the other abilities of this Solo.
- Why is this wording/interaction structured this way? Was this a conscious design decision, or perhaps a layover from Mk2's wording which interacts badly with a new, unreleased model?
Please, and thank you in advance.