Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Annihilator Hjard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Small town Germany
    Posts
    616

    Default Sprays + Forests

    Since having something written in the rulebook doesn't seem to count anything in the new edition unless it's also confirmed by an infernal and the search function is still borked I have to create this question again, so I have a link to point people to:

    Quote Originally Posted by "Prime Rules Digest p.54
    A model under the spray template cannot be hit by the attack if the attacker’s line of sight to it is completely blocked by terrain.
    That is what the rules say about when you CAN'T hit something with a spray. So in the reverse: As long as you somehow have line of sight to model it doesn't matter if the actual spray template goes through more than 3" of forest, a building or any other terrain, it can still hit the model targeted.

    Is this correct? (It has been in MKII and nothing about the rules involved changed)

    Picture for clarity:
    picture.JPG
    Last edited by Hjard; 01-08-2017 at 11:14 PM.

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Worlds Stormpuppy_Infantry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9,570

    Default

    Target can be hit by the attack since the terrain feature doesn't completely block the line of sight.
    You create your own destiny, and your lot in life is not fixed at birth.
    Truth is truth, regardless how bitter it is.
    Anti armor ranged damage per point cost for Haley1
    Stormblade Infantry, fragile but versatile infantry.
    Clockwork Oracle, Warmachine&Hordes probability calculator for Android.

  3. #3

    Default

    Wasn't there a rule that sprays can only penetrate up to 3'' into a forest? (when Eyeless Sight still ignored forests for LOS this was a more relevant question than today.)
    Or has this been dumped with MK3?

  4. #4
    Conqueror Larnu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    465

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NoOneII View Post
    Wasn't there a rule that sprays can only penetrate up to 3'' into a forest? (when Eyeless Sight still ignored forests for LOS this was a more relevant question than today.)
    Or has this been dumped with MK3?
    No, Sprays cannot hit models when LoS is completely blocked by terrain. Relevant texts:
    Quote Originally Posted by Primal PDF P 54
    A model under the spray template cannot be hit by the attack if the attacker's line of sight to it is completelt blocked by terrain.
    Quote Originally Posted by WMH Jnuary 2017 Errata
    p. 54, Spray Attacks
    Add the following to the end of the third paragraph:
    Ignore cloud effect terrain when determining if the attacker’s line of sight is completely blocked to a model under a spray template.
    Quoted separately, as the PDF's have not been updated at the time of posting.

    Edit: Although this means that the above quote kind of true (as 3'' of terrain blocks a spray hitting a model within a forest), it does not stop a model behind 3'' or more of a forest being hit, if LoS can still be drawn.
    Last edited by Larnu; 01-09-2017 at 01:16 AM.
    ~Larnu

    Quote Originally Posted by rydiafan View Post
    DarkLegacy has no personal opinions. He lives, sleeps, eats, and breathes Privateer Press. They actually keep him frozen in a closet at PP headquarters and wake him when he is needed, like Kai on Lexx.

  5. #5
    Annihilator anth70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    565

    Default

    Forests - LOS only goes 3 ' into it and cant go through (side to side)

    For sprays you must have LOS (ie three inches into a wood) but the spray ignores intervening models so sometimes confusing as you don't need LOS if the LOS is blocked by other models (only if it is blocked by terrain).

    noone: No. There is nothing about sprays only going 3 inches into a forest. If you can see a model past a forest (eg around the edge as in the picture above) you have LOS to it an can spray it regardless of how much forest the spray goes through.

  6. #6
    Annihilator Hjard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Small town Germany
    Posts
    616

    Default

    Thanks for confirming, can be closed

  7. #7
    Destroyer of Worlds
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    As a practical example, you can now stand on one side of a Forest and spray down a Colossal on the other side of the Forest, because you always have LOS to a colossal?
    In Shanghai? Message me!
    Welcome Skorne #Options

  8. #8
    Destroyer of Worlds
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,097

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by regleant View Post
    As a practical example, you can now stand on one side of a Forest and spray down a Colossal on the other side of the Forest, because you always have LOS to a colossal?
    Yep. And if there is a smaller based model standing beside the colossal that gets caught in the spray, that model will not be hit at all if there is no LOS to it.

  9. #9
    Destroyer of Worlds solkan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    6,021

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by regleant View Post
    As a practical example, you can now stand on one side of a Forest and spray down a Colossal on the other side of the Forest, because you always have LOS to a colossal?
    The problem with your statement is the word "now", implying that the situation was ever different. The situation has never been different.

    This is one of those cases where the rule rests on a principle that people probably explain in an imprecise manner. Usually 3 inches of forest block line of sight, so usually a spray template is stopped by that much forest. But it's not because the spray can't got through three inches of forest, it's because line of sight is blocked by terrain. If the attacker has line of sight in spite of the forest (such as because of the colossal rules) then line of sight isn't blocked.
    Last edited by solkan; 01-10-2017 at 06:42 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •