Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Default Does Zephyr Target Models?

    Think I know the answer on this one, but thought I would double check.

    Specifically looking at the case of Alexia and The Risen with Valachev

    Alexia has Granted:Spell Ward - While in formation models in this unit cannot be targeted by spells

    And Valachev has Zephyr *Action - Models in this unit can immediately advance up to 3"



    So a Spell Warded model cannot be the target of a buff, but they can benefit from an AOE buff

    Alternatively, does Alexia still grant spell ward while valachev is the officer?




    As I said, I am pretty sure the spell does target, and no it cannot benefit the unit under spell ward, but there is a chance I am being too strict.

  2. #2

    Default

    Alexia does indeed grant spellward to Valachev, Zephyr however does not target and can therefore be cast by Valachev and it in turn affects the unit without targeting it.

    Or in short, Valachev gets spellward but not only is he still able to cast zephyr, the unit also profits from it.

  3. #3
    Destroyer of Worlds
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,986

    Default

    The question here is whether spells without a specified target implicitly target self. For warcasters, this is explicit - spells like wind rush are rng self and target self. For spells on other models, it's not clear.

    It seems like rules as written he can cast wind rush while affected by spell ward, but you do have some odd effects. For example, all spells have targets (prime page 71). However, what you target doesn't matter for Zephyr. So you could target something else - a friendly model, an enemy, it wouldn't matter what.

    So you would not be able to cast Zephyr if valachev was affected by spell ward and had no other models in his line of sight (no other models that were targetable, that is). Which is a very strange edge case and is probably not intended.

  4. #4
    Destroyer of Worlds
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    There are many spells that don't target anything, for example any spell with a range of control, the caster pays the cost and then the spell takes effect. Unless a spell says that it target then you don't need one as in this instance. Zephyr does not target so there is no interaction with spell ward.

  5. #5
    Destroyer of Worlds
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,986

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Leo_the_Rat View Post
    There are many spells that don't target anything, for example any spell with a range of control, the caster pays the cost and then the spell takes effect. Unless a spell says that it target then you don't need one as in this instance. Zephyr does not target so there is no interaction with spell ward.
    "When a spell is cast, declare its target.". Straight from the rules.

    Spells with rng control do target. They just happen to have a different range. Also many spells are range self, aoe ctrl, and those target self.

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Worlds
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    What is the target of a spell with control? It's been ruled that you can have both an upkeep spell with range self and control on the caster at the same time. If you can do this then the control spell obviously does not target the caster, so who or what is the target of the control spell?

    http://privateerpressforums.com/show...t=rapid+growth

  7. #7

    Default

    In the case of rapid growth there is no target. Its just an aoe effect that you place. The upkeep is not "on" baulder. Example if purification is cast and the aoe is not in the purification area but baulder is the upkeep will not expire as its not on baulder.

    As for zephyr im not sure.
    Last edited by FatalSwordsmen; 01-11-2017 at 06:39 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •