Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Combatant
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4

    Default 2 questions about "hustle back" play

    1) When moving a jack as part of the "hustle back" play, the rules say that I can/have to move it "in the direction of [my] goal zone". To my mind, there are three possible interpretations of "in the direction of".

    a) I can only move it straight back (orthogonally) towards my goal zone (and would have to stop if there was an obstruction in that path)

    b) I can move it "towards" my goal zone, i.e. each step must take the jack closer to the goal zone, i.e. I can move orthogonally as well as diagonally towards my goal zone

    c) I can have the jack move along any path as long as it ends up closer to my goal zone than before

    We are playing with option b, but an official ruling would be nice.



    2) Do Jacks who move as part of the "hustle back" play still need to make block breaks?

  2. #2
    CoachB
    Guest

    Default

    1) The answer is b.

    2) Yes, you will still need to make Block Breaks.

    Unofficial ruling here but I doubt it will be overridden.

  3. #3
    Combatant
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wiesbaden, Germany
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Ah, nice, one of my last questions is now solved.
    But I have some more concerning Hustle Back:

    While advancing a jack during "Hustle Back", may I
    - push the Grinder?
    - redline (if action dice left)?

  4. #4
    Destroyer of Worlds tutenkharnage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Crawling through the Undercity with the BRI
    Posts
    4,960

    Default

    Hustle Back states:

    "Advance each chosen steamjack a number of spaces up to its Speed in the direction of your goal zone. As with a normal advance, you can change the facing of each of those steamjacks if you wish."

    So it appears to be a normal advance, which means that pushing the Grinder and redlining should be possible:

    Pushing the Grinder (p. 12): "During its advance, a steamjack equipped with a control arm can push the Grinder."
    Redlining (p. 8): At the end of your steamjack's advance, you can redline it to give it one last burst of speed."

    A strict reading of the rules, IMO, supports the ability to push the Grinder and to redline, but one may question why, if this is the case, the Hustle Back description is so specific. If you can do these things, why doesn't the special play simply say, "Make a normal advance with each chosen steamjack, but each space the steamjack moves must bring it toward its goal zone"? It's a valid question. I say, go for it! This game is all about pushing the envelope as far as you can during each turn, and allowing redlines and Grinder pushes fits with that model. (That said, the fluff side of the play suggests hustling back to play defense, which suggests that redlining is fine but that pushing the Grinder would be disallowed. I doubt we'll see an infernal here any time soon to resolve this. Heck, I don't even know if Grind has infernals.)

  5. #5

    Default

    And i gotta say its a great game, except ,my board doesnt lie flat and im missing a red runners leg, but other than that hey, it's a lot of fun. Although i was playing with the grind ball having an armor of 2 in the middle. It was nice with two jacks holding with a combined armor of 8 on the ball there.

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Worlds tutenkharnage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Crawling through the Undercity with the BRI
    Posts
    4,960

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhah001 View Post
    And i gotta say its a great game, except ,my board doesnt lie flat and im missing a red runners leg, but other than that hey, it's a lot of fun. Although i was playing with the grind ball having an armor of 2 in the middle. It was nice with two jacks holding with a combined armor of 8 on the ball there.
    My board won't say flat, either. Gravity will likely do the job if you're willing to let it sit somewhere for a while. As for the missing leg, I'd contact PP's mispacks department (assuming it didn't come in the box, of course).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •