We all know that things like Blitz and Lightning Attack cause attacks that happen immediately after resolving the first triggered attack. With Deimos-9, however, the question comes up, can he Blast and trigger Follow Through and then Sprint before he Brawls?
There's a claim that the Follow Through attack must happen immediately or not at all, based on a lost ruling from the old forums. However, I'd like confirmation before we write off the blast->sprint->brawl combination.
You resolve the attack fully, including all triggers and resulting follow-up attacks. You can sprint before attacking, or after the entire series of attacks is finished, but not in the middle.
Luckily, deimos-9 (I assume we're talking about the new quantum form?) has blue hit and run on blast attacks. So you can still blast->move 3->brawl. You just use a different ability to move.
Can I also confirm that the player can pick the order in which the blast triggers are resolved? So in the case of Q-Deimos, is the following a possibility
Originally Posted by Mod_GoLu
1) Blast enemy unit
2) Activate Follow Through blast trigger and brawl adjacent enemy monster.
3) Activate Hit-and-Run blast trigger to move 3 spaces (but *not* through the enemy unit location from step 1)
4) Activate Hit-and-Run brawl trigger to move 3 more spaces (also *not* through the enemy unit spot from step 1).
5) Activate toss brawl trigger
Note that QD9 is moving 6 spaces away before the enemy monster is tossed. (And Sprint has yet to be used!)
Last edited by ReverendBayes; 05-27-2011 at 12:05 PM.
Rev' trigger-created attacks don't happen until the current attack is completely resolved, so you won't get to brawl the enemy monster until you completely resolve the blast sequence of events.
It's unfortunate that Deimos can't blast and Sprint before he brawls. He can still H&R, but it reduces his strike range from 6 spaces away down to 3 if you want to get the full combo. And it's much easier to screen against the brawl when he can't use his blast to take out a screening unit and then sprint into position.
It doesn't completely ruin him, but it does take some of the flair out of running Quantum Deimos.
The attacker can resolve triggers in any order. The defender can resolve reactions in any order. If a trigger creates another attack, it's still resolved in any order during step 4 of the attack but the effects don't show up until after the current attack is complete. Similar thing applies to triggers like Disrupt, which specify when the effect takes place. The trigger is resolved in step 4 of the attack, but the effects are delayed.
It is true that this doesn't help Deimos get around screens, since you resolve the hit and run trigger before removing the destroyed unit.
Okay...seems there is a difference of opinion here.
In my previous post I asked whether the 5-step sequence I outlined is legal. GoLu, I *think* you are saying that it is legal, but you never came right out and said "yes, that's legal." Can you please provide this last bit of clarification? Thank you!
It is not. You do not start additional attacks until you have finished the current attack. Resolving the follow through trigger doesn't create a brawl attack in the middle of the blast attack, it creates a brawl attack immediately following the blast attack.
It'd go like this:
1) Blast something.
2) Resolve a and b in any order:
---a) Gain a brawl attack when this attack is finished.
---b) Use hit and run to advance 3.
3) You have gained a brawl attack. Brawl something.
4) Resolve c and d in any order:
---c) Toss the target monster somewhere.
---d) Use hit and run to advance 3.
Thanks, GoLu. Huge help in understanding things.
And word to CovenantPhil: your MonPoc-Fu is strong.