Hey there just a quick question based on another rule query.
The reason I ask is that normally you would not be considered to be engaged by the model(s) you charge (as the shot is considered to be taken as you approach). But in this instance you have been and still are engauged by the first model.
The way I see it that the engauged rule (being a "not" rule) would trumph the assault rule, as assault does not specically state that it ignores being engauged by other models (thus in melee). But I would like someone else view on this.
Ok maybe not such a quick questionAssault - As part of a charge, after moving but before making its charge attack, this model can make one ranged attack targeting the model charged unless they were in melee with each other at the start of this modelʼs activation. When resolving an Assault ranged attack, the attacking model does not suffer the target in melee penalty. If the target is not in melee range after moving, this model can make the Assault ranged attack before its activation ends.