I just want somebody to check my head on this, since it seems like the DF errata still confuses me.
Say I have a full unit of Iron Fang Pikemen with UA. I activate them, and give the charge order. I use "Defensive Formation". I run the standard bearer and the officer out 10". I then charge the standard bearer with several models in the unit, and charge the rest to the officer. They all end their movement within 2" of their charge targets, thus successfully charging.
I then take my combat action with the first model, who kills the standard bearer. The other group kills the officer. I now promote a model to be the Leader of the unit. Now all models can move 6" and all models are affected by Shield Wall.
Is this correct? Because it seems a tad odd but perfectly legal.
This is the post that makes me think it works this way.