So, I've recently started playing Warmachine again, and I'm generally pleased with Mk II.
That said, I have come across something both odd and a little disappointing, and I finally decided to bring it to your attention. It is this:
Thresher doesn't work.
When I say broken in the title, I don't mean that it is unfair, I mean that is has no practical effect, as far as I can tell. Allow me to elaborate. the text of Thresher (based on the card for Ravyn, Eternal Light) is:
Thresher (* Attack) - This model makes one melee attack with this weapon against each model in its LOS and this weapon's melee range.
However, there is a rule (located on page 40 of the small rulebook that comes with the two-player starter set) which states:
When a model is granted more attacks as a result of an attack it made, it gains only one.
Thresher is an attack.
Thresher grants a model using it more attacks--in this case, one against each model in its LOS and in the given weapon's melee range.
According to page 40, though, it can only actually gain one of those attacks, which is what it would get it if hadn't used thresher at all and just made a normal melee attack with the weapon in question.
This seems like an error: it does seem as though Thresher should be capable of generating more than one attack (as, otherwise, it seems pretty worthless) but the rules pretty clearly prohibit it from doing so.
Is there any chance this will be (or, perhaps, has been--I suppose I should have checked before posting this, but now that I've typed it up, I think I'm gonna go ahead and use it) errata-ed so that Thresher works? Perhaps it could use wording similar to that of spray attacks, which generate multiple attack rolls rather than multiple attacks, and damage rolls for each attack roll that hits.
Thoughts? Am I missing something?