PDA

View Full Version : Frozen warbeast failing frenzy check.



Steamroller
03-11-2012, 05:59 PM
Hi guys sorry if this one has been answered before.
Could someone tell me what happens with a frenzy check on a frozen warbeast.

juckto
03-11-2012, 06:02 PM
By frozen do you mean stationary?

I think frenzy occurs at start of activation, and if so nothing would happen because stationary models don't activate.

solkan
03-11-2012, 06:09 PM
I'm going to assume that you mean stationary, since that's what things like critical freeze causes.

A stationary model cannot activate.

You still have to make the threshhold check for the model during the control phase, because the frenzy rules make no exception for it, and you see if the model frenzies as normal.

If you end up with a frenzied warbeast that can't activate, what does it do? Luckily, this is in the errata:

Because a frenzied warbeast activates in the Control Phase, it cannot
activate during the Activation Phase that turn. If a frenzied warbeast
cannot immediately activate, it loses its activation and is no longer
frenzied, and you can remove any number of fury points from it.

Steamroller
03-11-2012, 07:14 PM
Thanks Solkan, that is exactly what We were after.

Ravir
03-11-2012, 08:02 PM
Side note, even if the beast fails the Threshold check and frenzies, after it forfeits that activation due to Stationary, it can then be forced to shake stationary so that it has its normal defense and out-of-activation abilities for the rest of the turn (if that matters)

The_Veneficus
03-12-2012, 06:35 PM
you cant even shake it as (p. 79 of primal) shake effects are done after frenzy. if he deoes not frenzy then you can shake it and use the model as per normal..

Ravir
03-12-2012, 09:24 PM
you cant even shake it as (p. 79 of primal) shake effects are done after frenzy. if he deoes not frenzy then you can shake it and use the model as per normal..

You can't shake to make the Frenzy useful, but you can shake to make the beast available for out-of-activation abilities. Primal p.74 , Shake Effects: "During your Control Phase after resolving threshold checks and frenzies, a warbeast that is stationary can be forced to cause the stationary status to expire". You can shake it regardless of failing a threshold check. This is useful in certain cases such as eMadrak with a Bomber. If by some confluence of events the Bomber is Stationary and Frenzies, his Frenzy activation is forfeited because of Stationary. However, after his Frenzy, he can be forced to shake Stationary. That way if Warpath is triggered, the Bomber can move, and can make an out-of-activation ranged attack if eMadrak pops feat. May be some other corner-case scenarios, but it's a tactical blip to store for later.