PDA

View Full Version : Does a model have line of sight to itself?



Liquidwulfe
03-12-2012, 10:39 AM
Does a model have line of sight to itself?

jandrese
03-12-2012, 10:47 AM
No.

10 characters.

Crate123
03-12-2012, 10:57 AM
Models are not within x inches of itself and its not in its own front arc. So no attacking yourself.
I cant remember whether they actually have LOS to themselves.

poeticruse
03-12-2012, 11:09 AM
The first requirement of LOS be that some part of a model be in your front arc. No part of a model is in its own front arc.

Crate123
03-12-2012, 11:38 AM
Somehow I missed the first point of drawing line of sight. Sigh.

Ravir
03-12-2012, 12:26 PM
However it's a ruled loophole that models are within their own command range (I believe) and can target themselves with spells (since "target" requires LOS)

Valander
03-12-2012, 12:42 PM
However it's a ruled loophole that models are within their own command range (I believe) and can target themselves with spells (since "target" requires LOS)
New 'questions' should get new threads. Mentioning "loopholes" should not be done, especially when it is incorrect.

(Yes, models are within their own command range (not a ruling, Prime p. 84). An offensive spell cannot target its Point of Origin, either; non-offensive spells do not have that limitation.)

poeticruse
03-12-2012, 01:34 PM
Unless noted otherwise, spells that target a model other than the casting model or the model channeling the spell require line of sight to their targets.


From Primal, p. 78.


An offensive spell or animus cannot target its point of origin.

From Primal, p. 79

That's not a loophole, Ravir, that's a rule.