PDA

View Full Version : Dark Sentinel + Bolt Thrower vs Immunity to Knock Down



Lanz
03-13-2012, 06:59 PM
A question mostly on the process of triggering rules. Let's say I'm playing pVayl and I have a Bolt Thrower. A model with immunity to knock-down (say a Menite 'jack protected by the Covenant) moves up to Vayl and triggers Dark Sentinel interrupting the 'jack's activation. The Bolt thrower moves in and gets a crit-thunder-bolt, which knocks down. Since the 'jack's immune to Knock down, it doesn't fall over, however, because of the rules for being knocked down during your turn, the 'jack still must forfeit something. Since it's movement was already used to get there in the first place, is the 'jack forced to forfeit its actions?

Valander
03-13-2012, 07:10 PM
You are mistaken about the rules for being knocked down during your own turn. The rules, on Prime p. 64 state that you cannot stand up in the same turn you are knocked down. You are only required to forfeit in the cases of being thrown or slammed and being immune to knock down.

Lanz
03-13-2012, 07:12 PM
You are only required to forfeit in the cases of being thrown or slammed and being immune to knock down.

So that doesn't apply to just any knock-down, but only throws and slams?

What if it was Typhon then, who has critical pitch?

Valander
03-13-2012, 07:19 PM
So that doesn't apply to just any knock-down, but only throws and slams?

What if it was Typhon then, who has critical pitch?
That is what the rules say; not just any knock down.

Looks like no forfeit required:


If a thrown model cannot be knocked down it must still forfeit its action or movement if it activates later in a turn in which it was thrown.
Since it is already activating, this clause would not be true.

Lanz
03-13-2012, 07:20 PM
Very interesting. Thanks.