PDA

View Full Version : Homicidal Maniac vs Host of Angels



Jorek
04-04-2012, 03:08 AM
Hi all,

during a game today the Epic Butcher charged into a few warrior models in the Host of Angels aura.

The question that arose was:

Does the Butcher check for LOS and melee range when declaring his attacks (with no Incubi present) or does he check after each attack he makes?
Homicidal Maniac says "... makes a normal melee attack... it makes one melee attack gainst each modell in LOS and melee range."

Since he checks before the Incubi are present, my understanding of the rules is, that these are not attacked due to Homicidal Maniacs free attack. Or does he check after each of the granted attacks and keeps killing warriors and incubi alike?

Since it can go both ways, we diced it off and ran with it, but now we want to know for sure.

Thanks in advance.

Crate123
04-04-2012, 03:28 AM
Homicidal Maniac attacks are simultaneous.
So you would make all your attack rolls, all your damage rolls, all your tough or whatever rolls and THEN you would spawn a bunch of Incubi.
So eButcher wouldnt get to attack the Incubi without buying another attack. Now if he had cast Ravager on himself, he would get to make his Berserk attack (which is another Homicidal Attack) after you put your Incubi on the table.

poeticruse
04-04-2012, 03:29 AM
The attacks from Homicidal Maniac are simultaneous, so no incubi appear to be attacked until models in the attack reach the disabled step, and will not be attacked by the currently-being-resolved HM attack.

jdeckert
04-04-2012, 06:56 PM
Now if he had cast Ravager on himself, he would get to make his Berserk attack (which is another Homicidal Attack) after you put your Incubi on the table.

To clarify, he only gets to make the berserk attack if he destroyed a model. Under host of angels, models are replaced with incubi at the disabled step, and so do not count as being destroyed for purposed of making a berserk attack. Only if he disabled then destroyed a model that was not affected by feat would he make a berserk attack.

wargolem
04-04-2012, 08:47 PM
wording on host of angels? I wish War Room would hurry up and come out.

Crate123
04-05-2012, 02:49 AM
To clarify, he only gets to make the berserk attack if he destroyed a model. Under host of angels, models are replaced with incubi at the disabled step, and so do not count as being destroyed for purposed of making a berserk attack. Only if he disabled then destroyed a model that was not affected by feat would he make a berserk attack.

Very true.
I should have specified that instead of assuming he destroyed something as well.

poeticruse
04-05-2012, 03:44 AM
Berserk tangent is a tangent, and not the OP's question.