PDA

View Full Version : Hexeris feat and follow up(Glad)



wvieira422
04-04-2012, 04:18 PM
ok so here is the scenario:

Hexy pops feat and glad slams a model that model slams back into a light jack and stops.

Here is the confusion:

Hexeris feat: When a living or undead enemy model is boxed by an attack while in Hexeris's control area, Take control of it. The model becomes a friendly Undead :Undead: model. If it is a trooper, it becomes a Solo. The model can immediately advance up to 3" and can make one normal melee attack, then remove the model from play. When making this attack, ignore the effects of lost aspects on affected warbeasts. The model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement. Dark dominion lasts for one turn.

Follow up (gladiators card): When this model slams an enemy model, immediately after the slam is resolved this model can advance directly towards the slammed model up to the distance the model was moved.

Tactical tip from book: This model stops moving if it contacts another model. This model does not advance if the slammed model is destroyed by the attack.

Ok so the confusion started with this should be legal but seems like it is, RAW. So enemy model is slammed suffers dmg and is disable, then boxed, you now take control move the model make one attack then RFP. since the enemy model was not destroyed you can still follow up.

Another take on the RAW was; The slam counts as resolved when the model is taken control of thus triggering follow up since it's not destroyed.

And lastly my opponent felt that neither should trigger follow up as the slam isn't resolved untill the model is being removed from play. And the model is not there to follow up to.

So:
1. what is the order of immediate effects in this scenario?
2.does follow up still trigger, since model is never destroyed?
3.when in this scenario does the slam slam attack count as being resolved?

poeticruse
04-04-2012, 05:20 PM
Please avoid nicknames and abbreviations in the rules forum, if you could. It makes it difficult to search.

Once the model is off the table, there's nothing to advance toward. You cannot move.

To answer your direct questions:
1.) The Titan Gladiator conducts a slam movement and slam attack.
Rolls to hit.
Model hit is slammed d6", contacts a larger based model.
Model is knocked down, and suffers slam damage, including an extra die for hitting the light warjack (an equal or larger-sized base).
Slam damage marks all the models wounds, the model is now disabled.
Resolve the disabled effects on the model.
If the model is still disabled, it becomes boxed. Now Dark Dominion is resolving
- Model moves, makes its attack
- - That attack has its own resolution chain.
- Model is Removed From Play.
Slam is now resolved, Follow Up has triggered, but cannot resolve, because there is nothing to advance toward.

2. The trigger for follow up is "immediately after the slam is resolved". So follow up is triggered, but cannot resolve without a model to advance to. The tac tip is indicating that... not indicating a special sensitivity to the 'destroyed' condition.

3. After the full resolution of reactions to its damage effects. So after the resolution of Dark Dominion and the RFP.

Rynth
04-04-2012, 07:37 PM
To answer your direct questions:
1.) The Titan Gladiator conducts a slam movement and slam attack.
Rolls to hit.
Model hit is slammed d6", contacts a larger based model.
Model is knocked down, and suffers slam damage, including an extra die for hitting the light warjack (an equal or larger-sized base).
Slam damage marks all the models wounds, the model is now disabled.
Resolve the disabled effects on the model.
If the model is still disabled, it becomes boxed. Now Dark Dominion is resolving
- Model moves, makes its attack
- - That attack has its own resolution chain.
- Model is Removed From Play.
Slam is now resolved, Follow Up has triggered, but cannot resolve, because there is nothing to advance toward.


And remember a knocked down model cannot move or make an attack. So even though this hypothetical model qualifies for Dark Dominion it cannot move or attack since it was Knocked Down via the slam.

poeticruse
04-05-2012, 03:35 AM
And remember a knocked down model cannot move or make an attack. So even though this hypothetical model qualifies for Dark Dominion it cannot move or attack since it was Knocked Down via the slam.

Rynth is also correct on that front; unless this model has some proofing against knockdown, the timing of this is irrelevant. The KD'd model could not move/attack.

wvieira422
04-05-2012, 06:49 AM
Model slammed could not be kd'd, thanks for the resolution steps we both believed it should work that way but due to the wording of the follow up/Dark domion we played it wrong. as due to the fact that that we couldn't figure out when exactly the slam comes to conclusion. But that makes sense so thanks for the answer!