PDA

View Full Version : Trollbloods, Snipe x2?



sterling319
04-17-2012, 01:51 PM
So I'm thinking of starting Trollbloods, and was looking at some warlocks and the warpack. A question arose. The Impalers animus says, "Target friendly model's ranged weapons gain Snipe. Far Strike lasts for one turn. (An attack with a Snipe weapon gains +4 RNG.)"

Gunbjorn's spell, Snipe, says, "Target friendly model's/unit's ranged weapons gain +4 RNG."

The spell is an upkeep, and the animus, as long as it's cast from a warbeast, is an animus. Therefore, would the two stack? One puts a special ability to the weapon called Snipe, the other puts a general affect on the model/unit. It seems like they might. Is this a way to give a ranged weapon +8 RNG?

Ogrob
04-17-2012, 01:55 PM
Both effects are named Snipe. Effects with the same name do not stack, no matter what type of effect they are.

That's why Far Strike reads "grants Snipe" instead of just "Gain +4 RNG".

Episkopos
04-17-2012, 01:56 PM
I don't have the cards in front of me, but doesn't farstrike say, "This model's ranged weapons gains Snipe" or something like that?

Either way, they don't stack because the effect is named snipe.

thumpernickle
04-17-2012, 01:57 PM
As awesome as that would be for Trollblood players, they would not stack and grant +8" RNG. The animus Far Strike gives the target model Snipe. The spell Snipe is Snipe. Since they are the same named effect, regardless of their source, they do not stack.

NmoLvr
04-18-2012, 04:19 AM
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?71097-Question-about-Far-Strike-Snipe&highlight=snipe

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?37956-Snipe-and-Farstike&highlight=snipe

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?33129-Gunnbjorn-Snipe-and-FarStrike&highlight=snipe

Search is your friend. :)

jking_3rd
04-18-2012, 12:56 PM
Cygnar's been playing with this issue for a while.

The model only gains a single effect of "Snipe" b/c, as previous posts have mentioned, similarlly named effects CANNOT stack. Thus you are limited to a single buff of +4".
:(