PDA

View Full Version : Charging and Changing Facing



Prince of Wales
05-06-2012, 07:15 PM
Quick query: is a model allowed to change its facing before or after a charge?

Agamemnon
05-06-2012, 07:18 PM
No. Once you declare the charge you can only charge something in your current front arc (before moving). At the end of your movement if successful you turn to directly face your charge target.

rydiafan
05-06-2012, 07:19 PM
No.

You declare the charge and choose the path. You face that direction as you move. Then you turn to directly face the charge target at the end.

juckto
05-06-2012, 08:08 PM
Yes. Before and after, even.

Declare a target in your LoS.
Change your facing to "pick a charge lane".
Charge in a straight line.
Change your facing to directly face your target.

Valander
05-06-2012, 08:42 PM
Yes. Before and after, even.

Declare a target in your LoS.
Change your facing to "pick a charge lane".
Charge in a straight line.
Change your facing to directly face your target.This is correct. Note, though, that these changes are dictated, and not optional.

Prince of Wales
05-06-2012, 09:58 PM
So, formatted for maximum clarity, the way you move during a charge is:


Activate Model
Issue order/spend focus
Pick a target in Current LOS (No turning allowed yet)
Change Facing (Preferably such that your movement will bring you into your melee range)
Move directly forward up to your charge speed
Change Facing to directly face your target



Further, the 'in current LOS' stipulation means that a model with 360° Vision, either due to :Eyeless-Sight: or some other rule, could charge in any direction, correct?

Maudlin
05-06-2012, 10:54 PM
2 nitpicks:



- Change Facing (Preferably such that your movement will bring you into your melee range)
- Move directly forward up to your charge speed

- Not preferably. The direction you choose to charge in must bring you into melee range with your target if you had enough movement to get there (ignoring other models, terrain, etc).

- Not exactly 'up to', which indicates any distance you choose. You must move your entire charge distance; you are only allowed to stop if your target is in your melee range.

Valrus
05-07-2012, 06:09 PM
Further, the 'in current LOS' stipulation means that a model with 360° Vision, either due to :Eyeless-Sight: or some other rule, could charge in any direction, correct?

This is correct except Eyeless Sight:Eyeless-Sight: does not grant 360 degree vision.