PDA

View Full Version : Shieldwall vs. Knock Down ...



MagnustheJust
05-07-2012, 03:15 PM
My search-fu has failed me, as well as my brain...

Do you retain the shieldwall bonus if knocked down?

SageofLodoss
05-07-2012, 03:21 PM
My search-fu has failed me, as well as my brain...

Do you retain the shieldwall bonus if knocked down?

I believe Yes, because you are still base to base and you retain your original facing, so nothing is preventing you from getting the +4 ARM vs. attacks in your front arc.

Minotaur
05-07-2012, 03:25 PM
While I cannot find a rule itself right now that says so either way, a knocked down model is stationary, and cannot perform actions, or give orders, etc.

I would doubt it, I mean, they are knocked down and have to get up, it does not make sense from a 'real life' point of view (I realise these are toy soldiers), and a lot of the rules in Warmachine/Hordes are pretty logical and realistic.

poeticruse
05-07-2012, 03:34 PM
You retain the bonus.

Fluff is not rules.

rhino1085
05-07-2012, 03:39 PM
Edit: Too slow!

Minotaur
05-07-2012, 03:52 PM
You retain the bonus.

Fluff is not rules.

Is there a specific rule or faq on it, or is it more a 'therefore this is true' sort of grey area?

Leo_the_Rat
05-07-2012, 03:58 PM
It's actually part of the rules. Assuming the model was already in shield wall before being knocked down the list of things that knocked down voids does not include shield wall. Based on RAW a model can even enter a shield wall while he is knocked down since it doesn't prevent receiving orders, only giving them.

poeticruse
05-07-2012, 03:59 PM
Is there a specific rule or faq on it, or is it more a 'therefore this is true' sort of grey area?

The ability shield wall does not state any interaction with knockdown, nor knockdown with shield wall. The models retain the bonus because nothing happens that would cause them to lose it.

MagnustheJust
05-08-2012, 05:31 AM
Thanks PC...

poeticruse
05-10-2012, 03:36 AM
Thanks PC...

PR. Poetic Ruse not Poeti Cruse