PDA

View Full Version : Abomination vs. Fearless granted by Rhupert



squidstudios
02-13-2010, 07:28 PM
I had a situation where Temple Flameguard were granted Fearless and Tough by Rhupert Carvolo. The mess of them then charged a unit of Doom Reavers, which have Abomination. I killed many, but not all of the Reavers, and stayed within Rhupert's command range. At what point, if ever, do Rhupert's songs expire and cause the TFG to make fear checks? Or do the TFG keep fearless as long as Rhupert continues to sing the same song?

TheUnknownMercenary
02-13-2010, 08:26 PM
The songs of Dirge of Mists and Heroic Call last for one round and March last for one turn. March will expire at the end of the turn when Rhupert uses it. Dirge and Heroic Call last until the Rhupert's player's next turn, which means Rhupert does one of those songs, it last through the opponent's turn and then expires at the end of the opponent's turn. So if Rhupert does Heroic Call in round 1 it will expire after the opponent's turn in round 1 and the Temple Flameguard will have to make a check at that point.

KujakuDM
02-13-2010, 08:48 PM
rupert could give them fearless again and make it moot

TheUnknownMercenary
02-13-2010, 09:00 PM
That is not correct. As soon as the song expires the Flameguard will no longer be fearless and will have to make the command check this will be done before you activate any models.

KujakuDM
02-13-2010, 09:03 PM
and you can have rupert mke them fearless, that is waht i was trying to get over.

TheUnknownMercenary
02-13-2010, 09:14 PM
That may be but the Flameguard still have to make the command check when Heroic Call expires it just part of the rules.

Rosicrucian
02-13-2010, 09:28 PM
Right, but they don't have to go anywhere and giving them fearless again would then make them immediately rally prior to their activation, thus making it moot.

Birk
02-14-2010, 03:31 AM
A model with Fearless automatically passes command checks against fleeing, so it would not have to make further checks due to proximity as long as it remains inside the range that triggered it.
Therefore even if they lose Fearless they have already passed the check.

squidstudios
02-14-2010, 01:06 PM
A model with Fearless automatically passes command checks against fleeing, so it would not have to make further checks due to proximity as long as it remains inside the range that triggered it.
Therefore even if they lose Fearless they have already passed the check.

So if I understand this right, there is only one initial check, triggered when the TFG entered the Reavers' 3" Abomination range the first time. Since at that time they were Fearless, they would not need to make another check unless they triggered another one, by leaving the 3" range and returning to it, or something like that. Right?

Lunatic Calm
02-14-2010, 01:25 PM
You got it.

FerrusManus
02-14-2010, 04:36 PM
Additionally, a model or unit that passes a command check caused by its proximity to a terrifying entity does not make further command checks as a result of proximity to the entity if it remains inside the range that triggered the effect. If these models become separated and encounter each other during a later turn, another command check will be required.

If you need exact wording.