PDA

View Full Version : special attacks (not power attacks) on a charge



GeneralJigger
05-30-2012, 02:55 AM
So I've been using special attacks(not including power attacks) on a charge for years, then I heard somewhere recently that this wasn't allowed. I checked the rules but I can't find anywhere where it says that you can't perform a special attack as your initial attack when a model charges. Can somebody help clarify this for me?

Thx.

Gamingdevil
05-30-2012, 03:02 AM
The first attack you make after a charge must be a melee attack or a melee special attack (a special attack that is attached to a melee weapon), such as Thresher.

It's on the page where they explain charges, can't remember the page number.
EDIT: page number in post below.

Some power attacks, such as Rain of Death or Tremor state that they can be used on a charge in their own rules, even though they are not on a melee weapon.

The Captain
05-30-2012, 03:03 AM
You can use a Special attack on a melee weapon as your charge attack. (Prime, p. 47, left column, last sentence).

You can not make a special attack that is not on a melee weapon unless the special attack specifically allows it (such as the Khador Devastator's Rain of death).

GeneralJigger
05-30-2012, 03:16 AM
Cool, I thought I was losing my mind for a while there. :)

Thanks for the quick answers.