PDA

View Full Version : Extoller and CRA/CMA



NaCl Catapulto
11-28-2009, 09:08 AM
Extoller uses guidance on a Arcuarii, which then leads a CRA on a incoporeal model. Does the entire CRA become magic, or are the other Arcuarii ineligible participants?

TheUnknownMercenary
11-28-2009, 05:52 PM
The rest of the unit cannot participate in the Combined Ranged Attack because they do not have Magic Weapons

NaCl Catapulto
11-28-2009, 07:24 PM
Thanks, I'm curious to here a few more people weighing in... in the Skorne subforum right now, consensus is it does work - Unlike other single-attack buffing abilities like explosivo, Guidance does not bear the telltale stamp of "cannot participate in CMA/CRA.

TheUnknownMercenary
11-29-2009, 01:12 AM
While the one model that is making the attack makes the CRA with a magic weapon the other models do not have the magic weapon ability and thus cannot do anything to the incorporeal model. See this section from the rules:



In order to participate in a combined ranged
attack, a trooper must be able to declare a ranged attack
against the intended target and be in formation.

Since the rest of the unit does not have magic weapons they cannot declare a ranged attack against the incorporeal model and thus cannot participate in the Combined Ranged Attack.

PaintThrall
11-29-2009, 01:55 AM
They can declare attacks they just can't hurt it with ordinary weapons

viperidae99
11-29-2009, 04:28 AM
So then the CRA would work for the attempt to hit, but the damage would be resolved as if the model had only been hit by a single harpoon?

vintersbastard
11-29-2009, 06:54 AM
As far as I can tell, the damage bonus should also apply, because only the primary attacker (which is the one with Guidance for this matter) is actually making the attack, the others are just contributing.

Lunatic Calm
11-29-2009, 07:08 AM
This is weird enough that I'm going to go check.

NaCl Catapulto
11-29-2009, 07:29 AM
This is weird enough that I'm going to go check.

Yesssss. We got an infernal on the job!

NaCl Catapulto
12-01-2009, 06:19 AM
Still curious as to the official answer.....

Mootaz
12-01-2009, 06:30 AM
And it will come when we have it.
If we say "Checking" then we have it on our internal tracker and it won't get lost.

Lunatic Calm
12-01-2009, 04:00 PM
Answer is: It works.

Mutton
12-01-2009, 04:02 PM
So this works on Incorp. targets but not passaged 'jacks, right?

vintersbastard
12-01-2009, 05:36 PM
Yes. The model with Guidance is the only one that can target a Passaged jack, and models have to be able to target in order to contribute to a CRA.

NaCl Catapulto
12-01-2009, 06:34 PM
Thank you so much, and sorry for the impatience.