PDA

View Full Version : Cankerworm using adapt on the Hyperion's starburst weapon



daoloth
07-22-2012, 10:19 AM
Just checking my logic here but I think it is legal for Cankerworm to use adapt on a wrecked Hyperion to get the use of its starburst gun.

Hyperion itself has the "Field Dependent" rule, that prevents it using the gun when its field generator is cripped.

The key phrase in adapt is that "The Replicator gains the special rules and weapon qualities of one of the destroyed warjack's weapons".

As the field dependent rule is not a weapon quality, rather a special rule for the Hyperion itself, that should make it legal to replicate the starburst.

Then of course there are these two threads where a weapon quality/rule does come into the mix and the Cankerworm still gets its wicked way with absent systems. But I don't think you need to go that far, but they seem like a good backup argument.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?24579-Cankerworm-s-adapt-vs-Cyclone-s-metal-storm&p=376852&viewfull=1#post376852

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?54808-Cankerworm-making-combo-strikes&highlight=cankerworm

Edit: damn then I saw the typo in the title... :(

Mastershake
07-22-2012, 10:36 AM
Just checking my logic here but I think it is legal for Cankerworm to use adapt on a wrecked Hyperion to get the use of its starburst gun.

Hyperion itself has the "Field Dependent" rule, that prevents it using the gun when its field generator is cripped.

The key phrase in adapt is that "The Replicator gains the special rules and weapon qualities of one of the destroyed warjack's weapons".

As the field dependent rule is not a weapon quality, rather a special rule for the Hyperion itself, that should make it legal to replicate the starburst.

Then of course there are these two threads where a weapon quality/rule does come into the mix and the Cankerworm still gets its wicked way with absent systems. But I don't think you need to go that far, but they seem like a good backup argument.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?24579-Cankerworm-s-adapt-vs-Cyclone-s-metal-storm&p=376852&viewfull=1#post376852

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?54808-Cankerworm-making-combo-strikes&highlight=cankerworm

Edit: damn then I saw the typo in the title... :(

Can't see a reason why it wouldn't work since Field Dependent is independent of the weapon.

solkan
07-22-2012, 10:58 AM
I think Maudlin's post's corollary is pretty much the answer to the question:
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?24579-Cankerworm-s-adapt-vs-Cyclone-s-metal-storm&p=376852&viewfull=1#post376852

Answer is: Cankerworm can use Dual Covering Fire to get two templates.

Corollary: Absent systems are not disabled systems.

The Cankerworm has a perfectly non-existent field generator, so it cannot possibly have a crippled one. :) So it doesn't have to worry about its copy of the Starburst gun.

daoloth
07-23-2012, 02:18 AM
The Cankerworm has a perfectly non-existent field generator, so it cannot possibly have a crippled one. :) So it doesn't have to worry about its copy of the Starburst gun.

And that would be if the field dependent rule was part of the weapon's rules....

I think I've had my suspicions confirmed. Thanks guys.