PDA

View Full Version : Gargantuan and Colossal range attacks appear to be handled differently



hengist
07-29-2012, 10:00 PM
I was reading NQ 43 and noticed that the rules for Gargantuan range attacks state that, while engaged, the Gargantuan does not get a bonus for not moving, if targeting models it is engaged with! The rulebook for Colossals states that if a Colossal is engaged, it loses its range attack bonus for not moving.

This would imply that MK for example, if engaged and gets his spray attack, could add 2 to any model he attacks which is not engaged with him. Go figure!

I wonder if the wording in the NQ 43 was in error or is a deliberate change to the rules between the two types of models. Gargantuans seem to have only one range attack. So far anyway.

ShoX
07-29-2012, 11:42 PM
nevermind. Pre-coffee comments were here before...

hamsandwich50
07-30-2012, 04:55 AM
even though it's quite far away maybe this will be something clarified when the actual book come out.

UndeadDan
07-30-2012, 05:08 AM
This, and posts like it, should go in the rules forum.

quindraco
07-30-2012, 05:29 AM
This, and posts like it, should go in the rules forum.

The rules forum is only for rules questions. There is no rules question here, and if it were put in the rules forum, it would be either locked or moved.

UndeadDan
07-30-2012, 05:42 AM
I read it as an implicit question. I apologize if that was an incorrect inference.

hengist
07-30-2012, 06:16 AM
The rules are quite clear as written. I was just wondering if the change is deliberate or an error in NQ 43.

Lego-Pup
07-30-2012, 06:22 AM
Ruled that gargantuans should have the same rules as colossals for shooting while engaged. https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?115109-Colossal-s-and-Aiming-in-Combat

UndeadDan
07-30-2012, 06:27 AM
Good catch, LP!

Now we just need an Infernal or Mod to lock this puppy.

poeticruse
07-30-2012, 06:43 AM
Puppy locked.

Valander
07-30-2012, 06:43 AM
Ruled that gargantuans should have the same rules as colossals for shooting while engaged. https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?115109-Colossal-s-and-Aiming-in-Combat
Yup. Should be corrected in the book when it comes out.