PDA

View Full Version : Rules questions



DrinkDuffLight
08-27-2012, 10:17 AM
1. When running a mercenary list in a 2 list steamroller tournament, can your lists vary from ANY mercenary group. Example One searforge comm, and one theme list with Magnus. Or is there some weird rule oh now that all works.

2. Can mercenary warcasters and jack marshals use any mercenary Jack, unless stated otherwise in the jacks rules.

wazatdingder
08-27-2012, 10:18 AM
Yes and yes.

Lachlan the Mad
08-27-2012, 04:34 PM
1. When running a mercenary list in a 2 list steamroller tournament, can your lists vary from ANY mercenary group. Example One searforge comm, and one theme list with Magnus. Or is there some weird rule oh now that all works.

From the Steamroller 2012 rules (http://privateerpress.com/files/SR2012_Rules_V1.3.pdf), page 1, 2nd paragraph under "Army Lists":

[QUOTE]Players can bring a second list if they choose. All lists must be led by warcasters/warlocks from the same
faction. Mercenary players can use different contracts or Theme Forces for their lists. Minion players can use
different pacts or Theme Forces for their lists.

So yes.


2. Can mercenary warcasters and jack marshals use any mercenary Jack, unless stated otherwise in the jacks rules.

I assume from your language that you are aware of the Rhulic restrictions, but in general, yes. Rhulic 'casters and marshals can only use Rhulic 'jacks, and vice versa, while non-Rhulic mercenary 'casters and marshals can use any non-Rhulic 'jack.

TheUnknownMercenary
08-27-2012, 04:35 PM
1. When running a mercenary list in a 2 list steamroller tournament, can your lists vary from ANY mercenary group. Example One searforge comm, and one theme list with Magnus. Or is there some weird rule oh now that all works.

2. Can mercenary warcasters and jack marshals use any mercenary Jack, unless stated otherwise in the jacks rules.

1. Yes you can use any mercenary contract or themed list in a 2 list tournament.

2. Rhulic warjacks can only be controlled by Rhulic Warcasters and Jack Marshals. All other non-Rhulic mercenary warjacks can be controlled by mercenary warcasters and jack marshals.

Kallas
08-27-2012, 04:53 PM
2. Rhulic warjacks can only be controlled by Rhulic Warcasters and Jack Marshals. All other non-Rhulic mercenary warjacks can becontrolled by Non-character mercenary warcasters and jack marshals.

Just to clarify, the last line: all Mercenary Warcasters can control any non-Rhulic Mercenary warjack, barring individual restrictions (eg, Renegades may only be taken by Magnus.)

(Clarification, because warcasters are characters...)