PDA

View Full Version : corpse and soul token



crapofcorn
09-10-2012, 12:27 PM
Hello can a living enemy provide both a soul and corpse token? Reason i ask becuase some cryx spells "blow up" the model and the spell states this model does not provide a soul or corpse token.

nitnit
09-10-2012, 12:40 PM
After reading the 'Model destruction and tokens' bit in the rulebook, it says 'A model only generates 1 of each type of token when destroyed.' Looks like you'll get both!

LordSnotrag
09-10-2012, 12:47 PM
Makes sense. After all, Killing the guy/gal pretty much consists of separating the soul from the corpse. Seems like both should be available. :p

Warfrog
09-10-2012, 12:49 PM
You can get both a soul and a corpse token from the same model but only ever one of each. If 2 models are in range to collect the same token (Iron Lich Asphyxious and Iron Lich Overseer both want a soul token for example) the closest one gets the token unless overridden by some effect like the the Darkfire Spell of the Withershadow Combine and Iron Lich Overseer or the Body Count ablitiy of the Pistol Wraith.

Lachlan the Mad
09-10-2012, 03:52 PM
I think the confusion here is with "Remove from Play" effects. A living model can produce 1 soul token and 1 corpse token when it is destroyed. However, it's possible for a model to leave the table before it is destroyed. When a model hits 0 health, it becomes Disabled, then Boxed, then Destroyed. An effect which causes a model to leave the table when it is boxed will mean that the model is never destroyed, and therefore that it will never produce a soul or corpse token.

Mod_Neldar
09-10-2012, 04:22 PM
You can get both a soul and a corpse token from the same model but only ever one of each. If 2 models are in range to collect the same token (Iron Lich Asphyxious and Iron Lich Overseer both want a soul token for example) the closest one gets the token unless overridden by some effect like the the Darkfire Spell of the Withershadow Combine and Iron Lich Overseer or the Body Count ablitiy of the Pistol Wraith.

Body count doesn't override a closer soul gatherer. It only allows the wraith to get souls from models it kills. Compare it to the Withershadow's Dark Fire spell.

poeticruse
09-10-2012, 04:24 PM
We are going pretty far off course here. Original question is either answered, or garbled.

1.) Yes you can get 1 of each token type from a model.
2.) Yes, effects that remove from play before you reach the destroyed step stop many soul & corpse gathering effects. Refer to individual abilities for full details.