PDA

View Full Version : Warjack Special Attacks



Sowaka
10-09-2012, 12:34 PM
My group of friends and I have some confusion regarding special attacks made by Warjacks.

We understand that models like the Castigator can't charge and then use their special, but how exactly so the special attacks work? We went through the rulebook and still came out just as confused as before.

If the castogator uses his special, can he still make his fist attacks or does he have to buy them? If he used his special attack can he still make power attacks? Also, if he two-handed throws a model does this use up his two fist attacks? After throwing a model can he just punch a second model in melee range, or does he have to buy those attacks?

Valander
10-09-2012, 12:39 PM
Check Prime, pp. 48-49 for a more complete breakdown. But, short answer is when you make an action, pick ONE of the following list:

Combat Actions:
1. Initial melee attacks.
2. Initial ranged attacks.
3. Special Attack (*Attack).
4. Power Attack.

After any of those, you can buy additional attacks, but you can't "pick a second option" off that list.

Instead of a Combat Action, some models might have a Special Action they can do instead (*Action). If you do that, you can't buy additional attacks.

Lachlan the Mad
10-09-2012, 03:24 PM
We understand that models like the Castigator can't charge and then use their special...

To clarify this; you can make a special attack on a charge if that special attack is tied to a weapon (so the Dervish could make a Combo Strike as a charge attack, because it's tied to its swords). The Castigator's Combustion is not tied to a weapon, so you can't use it on a charge.


If the castogator uses his special, can he still make his fist attacks or does he have to buy them? If he used his special attack can he still make power attacks? Also, if he two-handed throws a model does this use up his two fist attacks? After throwing a model can he just punch a second model in melee range, or does he have to buy those attacks?

As Valanader said, special attacks (including power attacks, which are considered to be a kind of special attack) use up the "initial attack" part of your combat action, so they are made instead of your "free" punches. After using a special or power attack, you can buy additional attacks with focus. However, you can't buy an additional special attack -- you only get one special attack per turn.

TheUnknownMercenary
10-09-2012, 04:38 PM
To clarify this; you can make a special attack on a charge if that special attack is tied to a weapon (so the Dervish could make a Combo Strike as a charge attack, because it's tied to its swords). The Castigator's Combustion is not tied to a weapon, so you can't use it on a charge.

This is not 100% correct.

The special attack has to be an ability of a melee weapon to be able to be used with a charge.

If a special attack is not an ability of a melee weapon, it has to state in the special attack that it can be used with a charge.

Since Combustion is not an ability of a melee weapon and it does not state that it can be used on a charge then Combuston cannot be used with a charge.

Sowaka
10-11-2012, 10:03 AM
Sorry to bump this up, but just to clarify, this means that it's fine for a model like the angelius to charge and use it's armor piercing attack on the charge, at which point it can buy additional melee attacks with it's tail sans it's another piercing skill?

Valander
10-11-2012, 10:05 AM
Sorry to bump this up, but just to clarify, this means that it's fine for a model like the angelius to charge and use it's armor piercing attack on the charge, at which point it can buy additional melee attacks with it's tail sans it's another piercing skill?
Right, you can charge and make the Armor Piercing Special Attack. You would only get that one attack, and have to buy additional attacks, which would not be Armor Piercing attacks.

Sowaka
10-11-2012, 02:25 PM
Okay, sorry for bumping this thread up again when it has already taken up so much time, but isn't thresher on the harrower also a weapon quality? If you charged with a harrower and used the thresher special attack, would only the roll on the charge target be boosted, or all rolls on all models in range of the thresher?

Thanks again, and sorry for taking up so much time!

Lachlan the Mad
10-11-2012, 03:11 PM
Okay, sorry for bumping this thread up again when it has already taken up so much time, but isn't thresher on the harrower also a weapon quality? If you charged with a harrower and used the thresher special attack, would only the roll on the charge target be boosted, or all rolls on all models in range of the thresher?

Thanks again, and sorry for taking up so much time!

Only the attack roll against your charge target is boosted.