PDA

View Full Version : Chain Attacks and Sacrificial Pawn



huffer0001
10-28-2012, 10:10 AM
Tried searching several things, couldn't find this specific situation, so here it is.

Pistol Wraith shoots Terminus, hitting with both ranged attacks. Terminus sacrificial pawns at least one of those shots off to a McThrall or something. So, does the Pistol Wraith qualify to Chain Attack: Death Chill Terminus or not? The dice were rolled and PW hit Termy both times, but sac pawn confuses me.

solkan
10-28-2012, 10:23 AM
From the start of Chain Attack: Death Chill

If this model hits the same model with both its initial attacks ...

From Terminus's version of Sacrificial Pawn:

When this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, you can choose to have one friendly, non-incorporeal Undead Model within 3" of this model directly hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects.

According to the Attack Main Sequence, "Resolve effects which cause the attack to hit a model other than the target" is Step 7, and "Resolve all other effects that are triggered by hitting or missing" is Step 9, it appears that according to Sacrificial Pawn, you didn't hit Terminus, you hit the other model instead, even though you targeted Terminus and rolled to hit Terminus.