PDA

View Full Version : New player seeking clarification - some basic but frustrating questions

Sariusmonk
10-29-2012, 04:12 PM
Hey, I'm pretty new to Hordes but been reading through the rules steadily and played about 4 games now. Unfortunately everyone I play against has a different take on the rules, so very often I'm having to change how I play depending on who I'm playing. I'm sure most of my questions will have easy answers, yet due to showing the rules to people I'm playing with their opinions don't change, so another voice on my side would help clear it up for me. Apologies if these are answered elsewhere but I'm not too great at searching for rather specific subjects.

1. Casting and running - It is my belief from what I read that if you cast a spell you are unable to run on that same turn, other players seem to believe you can cast spells and then run.

2. Specific scenario free strike - I had a scenario where I had a shredder with its back to an enemy troll with its 2" reach, during my turn I turned the shredder to face the troll, advanced into base to base contact, and then continued to advance within the front arc to the other side of the model (essentially sliding from its right side, to its left) - I felt since the shredder stayed within the front arc it wasn't open to a free strike but my opponent seemed to feel otherwise and my shredder died as a result. Not sure on this one, either way, I never left the front arc of the mini but I travelled within it, if that helps?