PDA

View Full Version : Casting Saeryns Blight Bringer when you cant draw LOS.



FeralJim
10-30-2012, 09:31 AM
Hey guys, just a quick question that came up on the table recently.

If Saeryn declares she is casting Blight Bringer on a target, and that target is more than 3" inside a Forest (she doesn't have eyeless) the Fury cost is still spent even though she can't target that Beast to apply the spell right? Could she switch the spell to a different Beast?

Cheers for the help, Jim

LEJ
10-30-2012, 09:37 AM
If you cannot target the model specified you rewind to the last legal point; in this case where you declared the attack, spent the fury and you now need to choose a different target.

Infact you must choose a different target and cannot choose not to cast the spell (Though nice players often let this go).

ForestZ
10-30-2012, 01:51 PM
Note though that you can check your LOS to another model at any time (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?69803-Confirming-LOS-Rules&p=956720#post956720), so you can verify you have LOS to the model (ie. is he more than 3" in the forest along your line of sight?) before ever declaring the spell. But if you didn't check beforehand, then LEJKaya has it right.

kaneblaise
10-30-2012, 07:55 PM
It would follow, then, that you get that Fury back if there were no valid targets, yes?

solkan
10-30-2012, 08:07 PM
It would follow, then, that you get that Fury back if there were no valid targets, yes?

If you had absolutely no valid targets, then it would follow from the "Rewind and try again" doctrine that you would refund the cost of the spell and continue rewinding. After all, you cannot pay for a spell that you cannot cast.

On the other hand, any target that you can see that satisfies the spell's target restrictions (or whatever other rules may apply) is a valid target whether it is in range or not.

FeralJim
10-31-2012, 01:39 AM
My local PG thought that regardless of whether or not I had another target for the spell, the cost was spent.

Does everyone agree then that if you have no targets for Blight Bringer (can't drow LOS to any of them) that you would refund the cost?

Gamingdevil
10-31-2012, 03:52 AM
If you couldn't see a single one of your warbeasts, then yes. If you were able to see another one other than you original targets, then rules as written would force you to cast it on that target.