PDA

View Full Version : charging when in contact



hengist
10-31-2012, 11:25 AM
As I read the rules, if your model is in base to base contact with a target model at the start of the activation, it can still charge at right angles to the target model so long as the target model does not leave the charging models' melee range. Is this correct? The reason to do this would be to make room for another model for example.

Mod_Redphantasm
10-31-2012, 11:32 AM
This is correct.

Valander
10-31-2012, 01:52 PM
Yes, that's correct. Note, however, that you do not get the charge attack boosted damage unless you move at least 3" when you charge.

The Defenestrator
10-31-2012, 03:55 PM
This then means you can use the assault order while already in combat and still get to make the ranged attack, yes?

DarkLegacy
10-31-2012, 04:14 PM
This then means you can use the assault order while already in combat and still get to make the ranged attack, yes?
Part of the rules for Assault prevent you from making a ranged attack targeting a model you were in melee with at the start of the Assaulting model's activation.

Sand20go
10-31-2012, 04:15 PM
However....has there been a ruling as to whether said model, if in a unit that got the order, would still have to move in a straight line? Since Charge/Run goes to the whole unit I would assume so.

Dacian
10-31-2012, 04:16 PM
With assault you cannot make a ranged attavk if you start activating in melee ot the charge target

TheUnknownMercenary
10-31-2012, 04:20 PM
This then means you can use the assault order while already in combat and still get to make the ranged attack, yes?

Assault states that the charging model cannot make the ranged attack against the target model if it started its activation in melee with the target model.

Next time, new questions get new threads, locking this one as it has been answered.