PDA

View Full Version : Power Attacks



Lanzlo
06-19-2013, 04:15 PM
How many Power Attacks can you buy in a round? Could I, for example, take Typhoon with Absylonia, put Playing God on him (grants Terror, Open Fist, and Reach), and walk up to a 'jack, weapon-lock both it's arms, and bite three times with the final head? (1 Fury for each lock, 2 Fury for two extra attacks.)

solkan
06-19-2013, 04:33 PM
In the normal course of events, a model only has one opportunity to make a power attack. That opportunity being the point in its activation where it decides what do with its combat action: make a power attack, or make initial attacks. The standard rules for warbeasts have a rule which allows them to spend focus or be forced to make an additional attack, but additional attacks are not power attacks and not special attacks. So, in general, the answer is: None, you don't have a rule to "buy" power attacks, and you normally only have the chance to make one per activation.

Specific special rules could, however, allow a model to make any number of power attacks in an activation. But even if a rule grants a free power attack (like Chain Attack: Grab & Smash does), you're only going to get one free power attack because the conditions for the rule work out that way. For example, the Chain Attack: Grab & Smash rule is triggered by specific initial attacks hitting, and that's only going to happen once.

Dalthoraz
06-20-2013, 10:40 AM
Prime pg. 51 Power Attack are special attacks that can be made by some models.


Prime pg. 48 Under Combat Actions heading. A model making a combat action chooses one of the following options:

Listed as an option

A model can make one special attack (star Attack) allowed by its special rules.

So you lock one arm then buy additional attacks at least that is how I would rule it. Also you would get the lock for free because of Playing God so it would be walk, weapon lock 1 time (free) and force 3 times for additional attacks, you have to forfeit initials to power attack.

Valander
06-20-2013, 10:59 AM
Without specific rules allowing you to do so, you cannot buy additional Power Attacks (or Special Attacks for that matter). If you choose to make a Special Attack or Power Attack as your combat action, you do not get to also make your initial attacks, but you can buy additional attacks unless the Special Attack you used states otherwise.

So the simple answer to the OP's question is, "No, you cannot do that." ;)

Lanzlo
06-20-2013, 01:37 PM
Without specific rules allowing you to do so, you cannot buy additional Power Attacks (or Special Attacks for that matter). If you choose to make a Special Attack or Power Attack as your combat action, you do not get to also make your initial attacks, but you can buy additional attacks unless the Special Attack you used states otherwise.

So the simple answer to the OP's question is, "No, you cannot do that." ;)

Ah, wonderful. Thank you so much for your prompt reply. Figured that would be too stupidly good if I could. :)