PDA

View Full Version : Black spot and additional attacks.



swirly
06-21-2013, 08:46 AM
Does black spot allow a ranged attack to be triggered after a successful melee attack or does it have to be ranged triggered only by ranged?

crazypackage
06-21-2013, 09:00 AM
Does black spot allow a ranged attack to be triggered after a successful melee attack or does it have to be ranged triggered only by ranged?

Same type of attack as the one that triggered blackspot. It should say this under the spell description.

swirly
06-21-2013, 09:07 AM
It doesn't specify only one type. It just says melee or ranged attack generates and additional melee or ranged attack. It sounds like they can be interchangeable.

Crate123
06-21-2013, 09:25 AM
It doesn't specify only one type. It just says melee or ranged attack generates and additional melee or ranged attack. It sounds like they can be interchangeable.

You can only trigger a ranged attack by a ranged attack vice versa: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?12765-Drag-Black-Spot&p=281551&viewfull=1#post281551

ZombieWar
06-21-2013, 01:21 PM
only way around this is with a drag gun.

vintersbastard
06-22-2013, 03:23 AM
only way around this is with a drag gun.Or having Virtuoso, Weapon Platform, or any other rule that allows both ranged and melee attacks in the same combat action.


You can only trigger a ranged attack by a ranged attack vice versa: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?12765-Drag-Black-Spot&p=281551&viewfull=1#post281551That ruling was to a specific subquestion regarding models that make normal combat actions, i.e. combat actions that are limited to one kind of attack; the ruling on Drag was a few post before that (cf. here (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?12765-Drag-Black-Spot&p=281259&viewfull=1#post281259)).

onthedownlow
06-22-2013, 03:33 AM
If it helps, the trick to understanding this is differentiating between 'Initial' (as in Initial Attacks) the game term to describe your chosen type of attack (ranged or melee), and 'initial' the English language term to describe something which you did first, a precursor.

For example, what prevents you buying a ranged attack if you destroy a model with a melee attack is that unless you have a rule like Weapons Platform or Virtuoso (explicitly meaning that you can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation) is that you have chosen to make melee attacks as your Initial Attacks, and cannot make both ranged and melee attacks in same activation as is prevented by the rules.

Crate123
06-22-2013, 04:11 AM
Or having Virtuoso, Weapon Platform, or any other rule that allows both ranged and melee attacks in the same combat action.

That ruling was to a specific subquestion regarding models that make normal combat actions, i.e. combat actions that are limited to one kind of attack; the ruling on Drag was a few post before that (cf. here (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?12765-Drag-Black-Spot&p=281259&viewfull=1#post281259)).

Yes I was aware of that. I should have mentioned the exceptions I guess.

wazatdingder
06-22-2013, 04:43 AM
So the answer is "No, you do not have to use the same kind of attack as long as you have other rules that allow both to be used in the same activation."