PDA

View Full Version : powerful attack clarification



baronvonchaos
07-11-2013, 05:10 AM
if you were somehow able to give a model with strafe, electro leap, etc, powerful attack where 1 focus "boosts all attack and damage rolls..." how does that play out?

Netherby
07-11-2013, 06:46 AM
Powerful attack as written applies to a specific weapons attacks. So anything that wasn't part of the weapon system itself wouldn't get boosted.

baronvonchaos
07-11-2013, 07:11 AM
So if you had Powerful Attack on a Sentinel, 1 focus to boost atk and dmg for the strafe attacks?

It just sounds too good to be true.

Mr. Golden Deal
07-11-2013, 07:33 AM
So if you had Powerful Attack on a Sentinel, 1 focus to boost atk and dmg for the strafe attacks?

It just sounds too good to be true.
No, because Strafe is multiple attacks. 1 Focus would boost one attack against one model, but that'd be it. Sprays and AoEs are fully boosted, though (see the Blaster and Gunner).

DogFog
07-11-2013, 07:37 AM
Do you have an example of how this would happen?

Archdeluxe
07-11-2013, 09:10 AM
No, because Strafe is multiple attacks. 1 Focus would boost one attack against one model, but that'd be it. Sprays and AoEs are fully boosted, though (see the Blaster and Gunner).

Strafe is a single Special Attack. Just checked it on the Sentinel in War Room. As you cannot make more than one Special Attack in a turn by definition, it must be singular.

baronvonchaos
07-11-2013, 09:12 AM
@Dogfog. In the Cyriss release event. Our LGS is doing it and I was wondering how it would modify the attacks of a multi-attack (1 model & Weapon) object.

Mr. Golden Deal
07-11-2013, 09:14 AM
Strafe is a single Special Attack. Just checked it on the Sentinel in War Room. As you cannot make more than one Special Attack in a turn by definition, it must be singular.
It's a special attack that generates multiple attacks.

baronvonchaos
07-11-2013, 09:23 AM
It's a special attack that generates multiple attacks.
That's what my question was. If Strafe kicks in with powerful attack is that not 1 attack using the *attack?

Archdeluxe
07-11-2013, 09:46 AM
The problem lies in the inconsistent way the rules define an attack as there are many instances of attacks encapsulated by other attacks, Trample being a good example. I think that the infernals will tell you that you can only powerful attack (in this case) on a single attack roll/damage roll pairing, and you'll probably just have to take their say so on the matter.

baronvonchaos
07-11-2013, 10:36 AM
And I would accept an infernal ruling. I just want to check. It sounds super powerful. it's only for 1 event really, but it may be a nice thing to have.

In clarifying powerful attack it's only per 1 atk/dmg pair right? With a charger, you must allocate 3 focus to use 1 for powerful atk and fire the initial shot. Then 1 to buy an attack and an additional to use powerful attack on it, right?

zyxx
07-11-2013, 10:40 AM
With a charger, you must allocate 3 focus to use 1 for powerful atk and fire the initial shot. Then 1 to buy an attack and an additional to use powerful attack on it, right?

this would be correct.

Pyrodude32
07-11-2013, 11:26 AM
First off - rules quotes help

Strafe [insert variable] (Special Attack) - Make [insert variable] ranged attacks targeting a primary target and any number of secondary targets within 2" of the first target. Ignore intervening models when declaring secondary targets. A secondary target cannot be targeted by more attacks than the primary target. Strafe counts as one attack for ROF.
So Strafe is a special action [which takes place of your initial attacks per the combat action rules in Prime and Primal]. Now as part of that one attack - Strafe generates multiple ranged attacks.


When attacking with this weapon, this model can spend 1 focus point to boost all attack and damage rolls for the attack.
All attack and damage rolls are boosted for the singular attack.

So strafe generates multiple attacks - powerful attack only effects one attack. All of the attacks generated by Strafe are NOT boosted by spending one focus....

Valander
07-11-2013, 11:30 AM
Pyrodude32 is correct.