PDA

View Full Version : groundpounder special attack and weapons platform question



sycorax
07-12-2013, 02:38 AM
Can an assimilator convergence vector use its groundpounder special attack when affected by syntherions feat?

His feat makes it a weapon platform so it can use both initial melee and ranged attacks in the same activation but could it walk or charge, make its initial melee or charge melee attack then use groundpounder as well before buying any additional melee attacks? Or would it have to be a normal ranged attack?

Thanks
Syc

Stormpuppy_Infantry
07-12-2013, 02:49 AM
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?163569-Weapon-Platform-and-order-of-attacks-on-Siege-Animatrax&p=2078852&viewfull=1#post2078852

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?164320-Prime-Axiom-Weapon-Platform-Power-Attack-order&highlight=Weapon+Platform

So you can either initial or special attack whatever you want.

Tolteks
07-12-2013, 02:54 AM
Don't have the mentionned rules at hand atm, however:

if groundpounder is a * action and melee, then yes it can be used at the end of a charge (a phoenix retribution warjack for example has a star action called combust that isn't a melee attack and therefor cannot be used at the end of a charge, combo strike is another * action which is considered a melee ability so it can be used at the end of a charge as the attack)

using a * action on it's own takes up your initial attacks , you'll have to buy your next attack after the action has been completed.

So in short this feat lets you use all your initials available, however if you use a * action either when charging of seperate then you will not be able to do the initials after, you will need to buy any additional attacks.

EDIT: Ninja'd by Stormpuppy

Stormpuppy_Infantry
07-12-2013, 02:57 AM
Oops. Sorry. Weapon Platform says that you can do power attack and initial ranged attack, but not reversal. Then you can't make Ground Pounder and initial melee attack because it is Special Attack. :(

sycorax
07-12-2013, 04:12 AM
So I can
1.walk up, groundpounder and buy melee
2. walk, melee and buy groundpounder
3. Charge+charge melee attack then buy groundpounder/melee

But not charge with groundpounder then use charge melee attack

Is that right?

Syc

jettzypher
07-12-2013, 04:20 AM
You cannot buy special attacks. You either decide to use the special ability at the start of your combat action, or you choose to make normal attacks.

DogFog
07-12-2013, 04:51 AM
Oops. Sorry. Weapon Platform says that you can do power attack and initial ranged attack, but not reversal. Then you can't make Ground Pounder and initial melee attack because it is Special Attack. :(

Special attacks aren't power attacks, necessarily. There aren't any ranged power attacks, which is why weapon platform wouldn't say that you can make one. You can do a special attack in place of your initial ranged attack.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
07-12-2013, 05:34 AM
Well, then special melee attack only consumes initial melee attack, and special ranged attack only consumes initial ranged attack?

drachenfels
07-12-2013, 05:41 AM
special attacks consume all initial attacks regardless of type

DogFog
07-12-2013, 10:10 AM
special attacks consume all initial attacks regardless of type

A power attack is a special attack, and Weapon Platform explicitly allows you to make a power attack and your initial ranged attacks. Since it doesn't specify the reverse explicitly, though, I suppose it doesn't allow you to make a special ranged attack and your initial melee attacks, as a special attack normally consumes your combat action?

solkan
07-12-2013, 10:47 AM
Normally, because of how the four choices for a model's combat action are spelled out as exclusive choices, a model either performs a special attack or performs its initial ranged attacks or it performs its initial ranged attacks or it performs a power attack. There's no automatic consumption involved, they're four separate bullet points and you're told "Choose one".

An ability like Virtuoso lets you do two of the options together. Weapon Platform goes beyond that and lets you mix even more. Because it says you can make a power attack and ranged initial attacks, you can.


A model with Weapon Platform can make melee attacks and ranged attacks in the same activation. When a model with Weapon Platform makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. A model with Weapon Platform can make ranged attacks even while in melee.

The model gets to do what's listed. It's still a matter of looking at the four bullet points and choosing one. But Weapon Platform is saying, essentially, that depending on which option you choose, you can do one of the other options at the same time.

DogFog
07-12-2013, 10:55 AM
And what's listed does not include (initial melee attacks + ranged special attack) or (melee special non-power attack + initial ranged attacks), so those are out. Yes?

solkan
07-12-2013, 11:33 AM
And what's listed does not include (initial melee attacks + ranged special attack) or (melee special non-power attack + initial ranged attacks), so those are out. Yes?

Yep. If you want to do something not on that list, you'll need to find a different rule. :)

Ground Pounder is a ranged weapon special attack. A ranged weapon special attack is still a ranged attack, so Weapon Platform will let you perform it while in melee, and then the model could buy additional melee attacks. But it would have to be in that order, and that's about all that Weapon Platform does if you want to use the Ground Pounder attack.

So, to go back to one of the original poster's posts, of the three listed options, "1.walk up, groundpounder and buy melee", is the valid one.