PDA

View Full Version : Curse of Shadows, Colossal and Trampling



Noddin_Dog
09-29-2013, 11:18 AM
So, today we had an issue where Cassius casts Curse of Shadows on a Stormwall

Curse of Shadows is

Target model/unit suffers-2ARM and cannot make Free Strikes. A model can advance through an affected model if it has enough movement to move completly past its base

Once the Spell was up, the Circle player activates Ghetorix and tramples it through the Stormwall

Now, trample is an advance so all good there

However, p35 of prime says (about the trampling model) It stops if it contacts a medium or larger base, an obstacle or an obstruction.

So although Curse of Shadows allows you to advance through a model, there doesnt seem to be any exception to the trample rule of it saying that it can go through it. I didnt know how to rule it, and the best I could come up with is the incorporeal thing that you could trample through it if it was incorporeal and this is almost the same interaction.

Did we make the call right, can the Ghetorix get through it on a trample?

LEJ
09-29-2013, 11:23 AM
I was the Circle player abusing this spell, just for reference:
Trample and Flight. (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?160955-Flying-tramples&p=2040234&viewfull=1#post2040234)
Trample and Incorporial. (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?99631-Trample-and-Incorporeal&highlight=Trample+incorporeal+medium)


Edit: Found this Infernal ruling (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?61833-Trample-and-Artifice-of-Deviation&p=849006&viewfull=1#post849006):

If the trampling model has the ability to move through other models, it does not have to stop when it contacts a medium or larger based model during it's trample movement.

My argument is that this ruling should hold for Curse of Shadows affected models because effectively all models have the ability to move through them.

Valander
09-29-2013, 12:03 PM
I was the Circle player abusing this spell, just for reference:
Trample and Flight. (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?160955-Flying-tramples&p=2040234&viewfull=1#post2040234)
Trample and Incorporial. (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?99631-Trample-and-Incorporeal&highlight=Trample+incorporeal+medium)


Edit: Found this Infernal ruling (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?61833-Trample-and-Artifice-of-Deviation&p=849006&viewfull=1#post849006):


My argument is that this ruling should hold for Curse of Shadows affected models because effectively all models have the ability to move through them.
That ruling applies to Curse of Shadows as well.

Noddin_Dog
09-29-2013, 12:33 PM
Thankyou, please lock