PDA

View Full Version : Timing and Breach



sirjoekcb
04-08-2010, 04:33 PM
Inspired by this thread: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?t=18105

Siege's feat states "The next time each enemy model suffers damage while in Siege's control area, halve its base ARM when calculating damage from the damage roll. Breach lasts for one turn."

Effects that trigger on suffering damage take place during step 2 of damage application; after the damage has already been marked. Is the feat only supposed to trigger if the model would suffer damage with its unmodified base ARM, then retroactively recalculate the damage based on the new base ARM at that point, or is it supposed to work like Armor Piercing which triggers on calculating damage (which doesn't appear to be an explicit step in timing. Step 4 in the damage roll maybe?) rather than suffering damage.

jonconcarne
04-08-2010, 04:40 PM
Inspired by this thread: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?t=18105

Siege's feat states "The next time each enemy model suffers damage while in Siege's control area, halve its base ARM when calculating damage from the damage roll. Breach lasts for one turn."

Effects that trigger on suffering damage take place during step 2 of damage application; after the damage has already been marked. Is the feat only supposed to trigger if the model would suffer damage with its unmodified base ARM, then retroactively recalculate the damage based on the new base ARM at that point, or is it supposed to work like Armor Piercing which triggers on calculating damage (which doesn't appear to be an explicit step in timing. Step 4 in the damage roll maybe?) rather than suffering damage.

It works like Armor Piercing. When you compare your dmg roll to their armor, you take their base armor and divide it in half, then add in any other modifiers.

sirjoekcb
04-08-2010, 11:32 PM
Yes, but how do the rules work out for it to work that way? Are you considered to have suffered damage even if the damage roll doesn't exceed armor?

TurboNitroMonkey
04-09-2010, 12:14 AM
A model 'suffers damage' whether or not damage boxes are actually marked on the card. Damage that does not exceed armor is still considered damage in terms of a damage roll.

In short, whenever you make a 'damage roll' against a model. That model suffers damage, whether or not the AMOUNT of damage is enough to breach its armor.

Menset
04-09-2010, 12:35 AM
I had the same question and all the answers I got where the same.

Treat it as you would a Armour Piercing Shot.

Macallan
04-16-2010, 03:00 PM
It works like Armor Piercing. Despite the not perfect wording, the final reasoning is because I say so :p