PDA

View Full Version : Mutagenesis + Spell Martyrs



ir0nbeard
11-12-2013, 11:03 PM
So reading mutagenesis from pThags. It says that Thags has to be the point of origin.

If channeling through a spell martyr is thagrosh still the point of origin thus being able to double his teleporting range?

I'm not seeing anything that says the spell martyr becomes the new point of oirigin...

Mr. Golden Deal
11-12-2013, 11:21 PM
"Spiritual Conflagration - While this model is not in melee and is in a friendly Faction warlock's control area, the warlock can channel a spell through it. Remove this model from play after the spell is cast."

"CHANNELING

Some models, known as channelers, can act as passive relays for spells and extend their effective range. A spellcaster can cast spells through any channeler in its battlegroup that is also in its control area. The spellcaster is still the attacker and the model casting the spell, but the channeler becomes the spell's point of origin." (p82 Hordes Primal) (Emphasis mine)

Stormpuppy_Infantry
11-13-2013, 12:08 AM
Please don't use nicknames in this forum for futher search. If you want to ask a question about Thagrosh, Prophet of Everblight, then pThagrosh will be better than pThags(it seems that p/e+name is fine because it use either name). Now this post can be searched too!

Also Golden Deal is right because channeling means that caster change point of origin to channeler. So you should not use any channeling method to benefit from additional effect of Mutagenesis, to retain the spell's point of origin.

ViperClaw
11-13-2013, 08:38 AM
Also you cannot channel an attack spell onto the channeling model, which Mutagenesis is.

So double no.

Valander
11-13-2013, 09:25 AM
"Spiritual Conflagration - While this model is not in melee and is in a friendly Faction warlock's control area, the warlock can channel a spell through it. Remove this model from play after the spell is cast."

"CHANNELING

Some models, known as channelers, can act as passive relays for spells and extend their effective range. A spellcaster can cast spells through any channeler in its battlegroup that is also in its control area. The spellcaster is still the attacker and the model casting the spell, but the channeler becomes the spell's point of origin." (p82 Hordes Primal) (Emphasis mine)
This is correct. If Mutagenesis is channeled, Thagrosh is no longer the point of origin, so the effects requiring that will not happen.